Venison Fajitas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2008
UPDATE** I made these tonight and without the mistake! This is an awesome recipe I will keep on using. The venison was so tender and the heat was perfect. I did add mushrooms to the pepper and onion mixture. I will make these again, but I will be more careful when measuring! I made a mistake and used too much cayenne. My sons were able to eat it, but the oldest mouth was burning! Grumpy "grumped" because he hates that "mexican food" but he ate it anyway. These get 5 stars because I loved them and my youngest son loved them - even with too much heat! My oldest son would have liked them more if I hadn't messed up the cayenne....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Grumpy's Honeybunch

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richville, New York, USA
Living In: Albany, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2010
Venison was so tender, but I should have followed the advice of other to cut back on the cayenne pepper. It was HOT! Even for hubs. I will try this again but with some changes. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jennyhahn1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Galloway, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2012
amazing, i need to go hunting so i can make some more of this! haha
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookin' Kyle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ames, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2010
Amazing use of venison! I added lettuce tomatoes, cheese, sour cream and avacado to the fajitas! Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy Grems Chamberlain

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spring Valley, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Newport, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2010
These were very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2006
I thought these were very yummy. They tasted like beef fajitas, and the venison stayed very tender. A great alternative to using up your venison. I will make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2010
I just made this for my husband, but i didnt have oregano on hand but had everything else, he ate 5 fajitas i like to tuck the ends and wrap it and cut it in half the deer was fresh from the day before soaked in water over night.. he keeps repeating how good it was... thanks for sharing..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TammyP

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Severn, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2012
I never thought of making fajitas with venison. I did marinate my venison all night in some teriyaki and Worcestershire sauce. I also cut up some mushrooms and threw in a pound of shrimp...wow sort of like a surf and turf fajitas. Anyway I'll certainly be using all the back-strap my brother gives me to make more fajitas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *Sherri*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winter Springs, Florida, USA
Photo by Jessica Paige
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2011
As other reviewers have stated, this is a great way to use venison. I used the fajita seasoning as a dry rub let it sit, then slipped it in my traditional fajita marinade to chill overnight. (As the first time I tried this recipe it was a bit dry just using the rub...might have been the cut of venison I had used as well). Came out extremely flavorful as I cooked down the marinade with the onions and peppers. This will definitely go into the rotation again once our freezer is stocked again. Thank you kellyb for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica Paige

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Havertown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2009
I did lots of things wrong, and this still turned out to be a very yummy dish. I used cubed venison stew meat instead of beef strips. I also put all of the seasoning on the meat to marinade instead of saving some for the veggies. Even so, we couldn't stop eating this until it was completely gone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MotherLodeViv

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Colts Neck, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Sonora, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 62) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Venison Roast

A simple, delicious way to enjoy tender venison with lots of flavorful gravy.

Pollo Fajitas

See how to make simple chicken fajitas with a zesty marinade.

Venison Stew

See how to make a classic stew with venison, carrots, and potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States