Venison Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2014
This is excellent - have made it 5 or 6 times. I suggest making sure you use thick cut bacon with good fat content (since venison is very lean) to add flavor. We've used a peppered bacon as well and found that to add a subtle spicy-ness. We cook the onion (substituted shallots) and garlic longer than the recipe states, and de-glaze the pot with some of the wine - this adds another splash of great flavor. One of our household adds shaved Parmesan on top to garnish - a nice touch. Goes over really well on a cold evening - better on the second day as are most pots of chili!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2014
I make this every year, and save some for the freezer! I use ground venison instead of stew meat, and I highly recommend using Fetzer's Merlot as the wine (it will be the whole bottle, just dump). Make sure that you simmer it and allow it to reduce! It will thicken some, but it gets a much richer flavor than if you tried eating it with more of a soupy, watery consistancy (we've tried both). No other changes needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
I did make quite a few changes, mostly because I know my families tastes. I upped the spices and cut back on the wine, this seemed to be a lot of liquid for only 2 pounds of meat and it was a very nice bottle of wine, I wanted to drink it, not eat it! Even then I added a tin of Romano beans towards the end of cooking because there was still a lot of liquid. I only added one tablespoon of sugar and am considering cutting back on the vinegar next time so I can eliminate it completely. I didn't add any canola oil to cook my bacon, it didn't need it, bacon has it's own fat and I only used one tablespoon of butter to sweat the onions in. This recipe is a good basis, my family all enjoyed it, but agreed that we'll continue tweaking it, thank you for sharing it with us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Battle, Sussex, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2014
I should start by saying, I've never eaten--or made--venison before. This was all very new to me and I was skeptical at first; However, this recipe definitely exceeded my expectations! I followed this recipe almost exactly (minus the cilantro). It was a little sweet for my taste but still delicious and my husband loved it. Would definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2013
Wonderful! Very different from typical chili--more complex and sophisticated (definitely NOT for spaghetti red or chili dogs). I used ground venison. No hitches there. For the wine I used a cheap Cabernet Sauvignon, which provided a very nice flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Devon

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Joplin, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2013
This was an awesome recipe. It wAs more like a stew. I changed some things. I put 3 cans of black beans and added one can of diced tomatoes. Garnished it with seranos, sour cream, cheese and cilantro!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2013
I used Dr Pepper instead of red wine. It turned out really wonderful! We usually just make jerky. Now I have something else that I can enjoy with venison! REALLY LOVE IT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burley, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2013
Great recipe. Like others I tweak it a little. I use about half the wine, use ground venison with some chunked loin, and double the spices, for my taste. The first time I made it I followed it exactly and it was good, but everytime I make it it gets tweaked a little, and gets a little better each time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2013
Man it up! A thicker and more savory twist. Like so many of you, I read numerous reviews before cooking and made some modifications to the recipe. Several women commented on how they loved the chili but it was too sweet for their husbands. I don't like sweet chili, so I cut the brown sugar in half (2 tablespoons). That was just right for me. Similarly, the soupy / watery texture was a common theme, so I cut most of the liquids in half (except I used about 3 quarters of the broth called for and a whole small can of tomato paste). If I do it again, I'll use more wine (than the half I used), the full amount of broth, and closer to the full amount of vinegar (to cut through all that fat). And speaking of fat, I only used 5 strips of bacon and no oil. Next time, I would reduce the butter by a tablespoon (and probably cut back on the bacon) - it was still quite rich! Also, like another commenter mentioned, cut up that bacon pretty well - before cooking it. That will get it crisper and help it to blend in better with the deer. Ultimately, I want to tell you that by reducing the sugar and liquids, this turned out to be an incredibly thick and meaty chili. And while it certainly is a different chili recipe, it clearly was chili - and a manly one at that, given the earthly flavors and thickness. The whole family loved it. It was probably the best chili I have made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2013
Great chili! I used 1 lb ground venison and 1 lb pork sausage, 2 small white onions bc i didn't have a red one, 1 1/2 cups of wine, dried cilantro because the store was out of fresh, 1/4 tsp cayenne and 2 heaping tsp chili powder, and I added a can of pinto and a can of kidney beans because we like beans :) better than other venison chili recipes I have tried!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 84) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Italian Sausage Chili

Put a tasty Italian twist on traditional American chili con carne.

How to Make Chili

See how to mix up a big ol’ pot of chili—in just 99 seconds!

Laura's Quick Slow Cooker Turkey Chili

See how to make a super-simple ground turkey chili in the crock pot.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States