Venison Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2014
This has become our go-to chili recipe for ground venison. At a recent chili cook-off we ran out of this long before the beef chili. I double the black beans, bump up the tomato paste, chili powder and use ground venison. I prefer to cook the bacon first, then set it aside so they can sprinkle on top of each serving, otherwise it gets mushy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2014
My husband's eyes were rolling back in his head after I made this, and I didn't even had the chance to let it 'brew' yet - always better the next day! I followed the recommendations of a number of reviewers. For this recipe, I doubled the amount of beans, using one can of black beans and one can of red kidney beans. I halved the amount of wine (3 cups, really??). I used a regular cooking onion instead of red, doubled the amount of cumin and cayenne, and omitted both the oil for the bacon and the salt for the venison. Finally, instead of the chilli powder, I added one chipotle pepper for smokiness, and half a jalapeno (this was playing it safe - I think I might do a whole jalapeno next time). Be prepared to let the liquids reduce a bit longer than 30 minutes as it can be a bit soupy (adding flour helped). Next time, I will try this with ground venison, although hubby insists it was absolutely perfect the first time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2014
The flavor of this chili is amazing and unique! The sweet and tangy tastes of the red wine and wine vinegar, combined with the salty warmth of the spices, is a perfect match for the venison. I only had 1 lb, which I cubed to about 1/2" pieces, so I added in a can of kidney beans. I also used coconut oil, a yellow onion, bacon bits, vegetable stock instead of chicken, and the whole can of tomato paste (mostly because I didn't want to waste it). I also threw in a cup of of chopped red pepper for color. It turned out more like a hearty stew, which was fine by me. It got rave reviews, and I think, like mossy chilies, will taste even better the next day. Serving over rice or mashed potatoes, I think, would be great to soak up all the yumminess!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jackie1789

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hartford, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2014
I tried this with boar, venison, and also just beef. It was brilliant! I especially enjoyed the spicy-sour flavours. And that's not too much wine. You just need to reduce it. Just like the recipe says.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2014
I followed the recipe exactly like it's written EXCEPT: I tripled the black beans (used the canned kind)and doubled the bacon (how can u go wrong?). Made it at the firehouse for the guys and they all loved it. My 1st ever venison meal was a huge success.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eric Puntervold

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2014
I loved this chili, and my husband surprisingly didn't mind it. He did say it way too much wine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2014
Excelent. My husband just told me this is the best chili he has ever had. I had to use what I had on hand since we live quite a few miles from town. I used venison summer sausage in place of bacon. I used round steak from our Elk this year. I substituted apple cider vinegar for the red wine vinegar. I also had vegetable base instead of chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2014
This is excellent - have made it 5 or 6 times. I suggest making sure you use thick cut bacon with good fat content (since venison is very lean) to add flavor. We've used a peppered bacon as well and found that to add a subtle spicy-ness. We cook the onion (substituted shallots) and garlic longer than the recipe states, and de-glaze the pot with some of the wine - this adds another splash of great flavor. One of our household adds shaved Parmesan on top to garnish - a nice touch. Goes over really well on a cold evening - better on the second day as are most pots of chili!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2014
I make this every year, and save some for the freezer! I use ground venison instead of stew meat, and I highly recommend using Fetzer's Merlot as the wine (it will be the whole bottle, just dump). Make sure that you simmer it and allow it to reduce! It will thicken some, but it gets a much richer flavor than if you tried eating it with more of a soupy, watery consistancy (we've tried both). No other changes needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
I did make quite a few changes, mostly because I know my families tastes. I upped the spices and cut back on the wine, this seemed to be a lot of liquid for only 2 pounds of meat and it was a very nice bottle of wine, I wanted to drink it, not eat it! Even then I added a tin of Romano beans towards the end of cooking because there was still a lot of liquid. I only added one tablespoon of sugar and am considering cutting back on the vinegar next time so I can eliminate it completely. I didn't add any canola oil to cook my bacon, it didn't need it, bacon has it's own fat and I only used one tablespoon of butter to sweat the onions in. This recipe is a good basis, my family all enjoyed it, but agreed that we'll continue tweaking it, thank you for sharing it with us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Battle, Sussex, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 91) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John's Italian Sausage Chili

Put a tasty Italian twist on traditional American chili con carne.

Bull Rider's Chili

See how to make a hearty beef and bean chili with lots of smoky flavor.

Jerre's Black Bean and Pork Slow Cooker Chili

See how to make pork chili with a savory Southwest flair.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States