Venison Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2015
I really liked this recipe. I added two cans of pinto beans, because I didn't think there were enough beans. I also added a can of diced tomatoes. A whole can of tomatoe paste and some smoked paprika. I used about two tsp of chili powder. Awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2015
Tastes good but more like stew than chili. I was hoping for something thicker. Waaaay too much wine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2015
Absolutely fantastic. Used ground venison, and cut back the cayenne a bit for husband's taste, but absolutely the best chili I have ever had. So much depth in flavor. Kudos to its creator.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Corvese

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2014
This has become our go-to chili recipe for ground venison. At a recent chili cook-off we ran out of this long before the beef chili. I double the black beans, bump up the tomato paste, chili powder and use ground venison. I prefer to cook the bacon first, then set it aside so they can sprinkle on top of each serving, otherwise it gets mushy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2014
My husband's eyes were rolling back in his head after I made this, and I didn't even had the chance to let it 'brew' yet - always better the next day! I followed the recommendations of a number of reviewers. For this recipe, I doubled the amount of beans, using one can of black beans and one can of red kidney beans. I halved the amount of wine (3 cups, really??). I used a regular cooking onion instead of red, doubled the amount of cumin and cayenne, and omitted both the oil for the bacon and the salt for the venison. Finally, instead of the chilli powder, I added one chipotle pepper for smokiness, and half a jalapeno (this was playing it safe - I think I might do a whole jalapeno next time). Be prepared to let the liquids reduce a bit longer than 30 minutes as it can be a bit soupy (adding flour helped). Next time, I will try this with ground venison, although hubby insists it was absolutely perfect the first time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2014
The flavor of this chili is amazing and unique! The sweet and tangy tastes of the red wine and wine vinegar, combined with the salty warmth of the spices, is a perfect match for the venison. I only had 1 lb, which I cubed to about 1/2" pieces, so I added in a can of kidney beans. I also used coconut oil, a yellow onion, bacon bits, vegetable stock instead of chicken, and the whole can of tomato paste (mostly because I didn't want to waste it). I also threw in a cup of of chopped red pepper for color. It turned out more like a hearty stew, which was fine by me. It got rave reviews, and I think, like mossy chilies, will taste even better the next day. Serving over rice or mashed potatoes, I think, would be great to soak up all the yumminess!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jackie1789

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hartford, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2014
I tried this with boar, venison, and also just beef. It was brilliant! I especially enjoyed the spicy-sour flavours. And that's not too much wine. You just need to reduce it. Just like the recipe says.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2014
I followed the recipe exactly like it's written EXCEPT: I tripled the black beans (used the canned kind)and doubled the bacon (how can u go wrong?). Made it at the firehouse for the guys and they all loved it. My 1st ever venison meal was a huge success.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eric Puntervold

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2014
I loved this chili, and my husband surprisingly didn't mind it. He did say it way too much wine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2014
Excelent. My husband just told me this is the best chili he has ever had. I had to use what I had on hand since we live quite a few miles from town. I used venison summer sausage in place of bacon. I used round steak from our Elk this year. I substituted apple cider vinegar for the red wine vinegar. I also had vegetable base instead of chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda
Home Town: Wausau, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Dubois, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 94) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Italian Sausage Chili

Put a tasty Italian twist on traditional American chili con carne.

My Chili

Basic chili recipe with beef, tomatoes and kidney beans.

Bull Rider's Chili

See how to make a hearty beef and bean chili with lots of smoky flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States