Venison-Bacon White Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2005
I acctually let it cook longer to thicken up, and was splendid as a more traditional chili, with a not so traditional earth taste
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Towanda, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: York, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2005
Amazing!!! I was hesitant to the brown sugar and cinammon, but it added the perfect taste. I substituted chicken for the venison and it worked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2005
I was given some venison , which I had never cooked before. This was a very tasty recipe, though I was glad I completely eliminated all 4 teaspoons of salt. I think it would have been inedible if that was used. You get more than enough salt with the bacon and chicken broth. I also cut the cayenne pepper to 1 teaspoon, which made it only mildly hot. My husband just adds more hot sauce when I serve it, as he likes to break out in a sweat when he eats chili!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mrs. Laff.
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2006
This was the first time I made anything with venison. It was good, although next time I will cut back on the salt if not eliminate it altogether. Plenty of taste to this dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Akron, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2007
What a wonderful recipe! After reading the other reviews I also omitted the salt and it was just fine. Adding the salt would have made it inedible. Overall it was fabulous and we will prepare this again in the near future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CRAIGB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Springville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2007
We love the kick of this recipe. Good heat and flavor. It cans well and is great for a make ahead meal for company.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2007
This is a fabulous white chili. We halved the amount of bacon and added half again as much cayenne pepper and chili powder, and used fresh cilantro instead of dried. This recipe disappears almost as soon as it's put on the table!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kelley, Iowa, USA
Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2007
I work part time in a bar full of amateur and not so amateur cooks...When I brought this chili in, the whole staff went nuts over and are insisting I bring it in again and again. It's the best chili I've ever had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Harlan, Iowa, USA
Living In: Iowa City, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2007
Wow! This is really terrific. Finally I have something I can do with all that ground venison in our freezer. My son doubled this recipe for us last night. A little bit was left over and I was planning to have it for lunch, but dh swiped it for breakfast! The only thing we altered was we left out the cayenne because our cayenne seems extra hot and we're not the types who can handle that much spice. Absolutely perfect! Thanks for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2007
I used this recipe for a chili cook-off at my sons school. It was a great hit. I did not add the salt. I put in kidney beans, a little more chile powder, and only half of the cayenne pepper. We won Peoples Choice at out cook-off. A great recipe..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Chicken and White Bean Chili

See how to make a simple and delicious white bean chili.

Cha Cha's White Chicken Chili

This zesty white-bean chili packs some heat!

White Bean Chicken Breast Chili

A flavorful chili that’s a little lighter with less fat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States