Venia's Tuna Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2005
Great tuna salad. I also added some eggs and used low fat sour cream instead of mayo. Very easy to make. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2012
Nice take on tuna salad and great for a low-carb light meal! I loved the concept, but I did change this up as I thought the amounts of the ingredients listed might be a bit much. For a 6 oz. can of tuna I used about 2 Tbsp. of Hellman's light mayo, 1 Tbsp. of chopped celery, 2 tsp. of chopped red onion, a little garlic powder, salt, pepper, and a splash of red wine vinegar. I let that chill while I hollowed out a large tomato and made a bed of lettuce on a plate. I then spooned the chilled tuna salad inside the tomato and served it with a couple slices of melba toast. This turned out to be a really good low fat lunch that I didn't have to feel guilty about!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2002
This is my favorite tuna salad recipe from here. I don't eat onions, so I left those out, and used fat-free mayo, but other than that, this recipe is perfect. Quick, easy, simple, and tastes great. Spoon some into a hollowed out tomato and it's a perfect meal for dieters and those who just like a good tuna salad. I gave it 5 stars in all categories. Since I started making this and taking it to work on our pot-luck events, it's a solid hit with everyone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2004
Excellent. To make it a day ahead, I add all ingredients except the lettuce. When we're ready to eat, I add the lettuce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2001
This is a salad that you want to serve right away so lettuce doesn't get soggy. It is very delicious. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2005
Easy and tasty, but a bit bland. A good shake of garlic powder gave it the flavor it needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Jerusalem, Mehoz Yerushalayim, Israel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2005
I like this recipe and it's SO easy! I added fresh ground pepper when I made it. The next time I make it, I will reduce the mayo a bit and maybe add egg, celery, or chick peas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2004
Can it get any simpler?! I used a Dole iceberg salad out of the bag, grape tomatoes, salt, pepper, mayo and omitted the onion. Wonderful! What a quick and tasty way to make tuna salad...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2004
This a great one if you are in a hurry. I'm watching calories so I changed the cup of mayo for about 1/4 cup of fat free sour cream. I also added 2 boiled eggs to get some more protien! Yum good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2007
I made this in hopes that it would be a pleasent twist to the traditional tuna salad. The recipe as is however has far too much lettuce in it for me to consider it a tuna salad , it is more of a garden salad with tuna. I made it a second time using less then a half a head of lettuce and substituted the salt for garlic powder to taste and it went over much better with the family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Syracuse, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Tuna Salad

Enjoy a light, healthy lunch with this quick and easy tuna salad.

Mediterranean Tuna Salad

Classic flavors of the Mediterranean combine in this tantalizing tuna salad.

Barbie's Tuna Salad

Spice up tuna salad with a little curry and Parmesan.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States