Veneto Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2006
Great recipe. I used boneless thighs fried them in olive oil and garlic. I also added thyme. Very flavorful, but next time I will double the sauce portion. I didn't bother with peeling the tomatos...what am I, Emril Lagasse? ..but I did seed the tomatos as the recipe called for. If there was a difference to peel the tomatos, i'm not sure what benefit that would give me, because the dish was excellent without the extra work in peeling the tomatos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chuck

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cardamum
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2006
Good! I used boneless, skinless chicken breast that I pounded and cut into strips. I omitted the celery (personal preference) but otherwise followed the recipe. It was tasty...thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cardamum

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Photo by Cherry Rae
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2006
I found this recipe when looking for something to do with a left over bottle of white wine from the day before. This has to be one of my favourite chicken recipes I've ever tried. I used half red onion along with white onion as I love the way red onion and balsamic vinegar go together. I also used twice as much wine as the recipe asked for, to give it a bit of an extra kick. Like others I sauted the mushrooms breifly over a very high heat to brown them off. I also used chicken breasts as I was only cooking for two people. The recipe creates a really nice thick and rich (yet light) sauce that you can lavish over the chicken, mushrooms and onions. I served it with a side of bulgar wheat and briefly stemed vegetables. I think it would also be great with rice or pasta. It's definitely the kind of dish that can be dressed down for a home-evening meal or dressed up for a dinner party. I will be making this over and over! Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cherry Rae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Birmingham, Staffordshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2006
This chicken recipe was great. I used boneless, skinless, thin sliced chicken breasts. I browned very well as my husband does not like pale chicken. I added garlic, some thyme and did not add any salt. I doubled the wine and added about a quarter cup or so of chicken broth so there would be more liquid. I also sauteed the mushroons before adding. I only had to cook about 15 minutes and removed the chicken. I added the vinegar and sauteed mushroons and let the sauce develop for 5 minutes then added back the chicken and let it pick-up the flavors of the sauce. Will definitely make again. This goes great with Corn and Rice Medley on this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2004
It's great to have a new chicken recipe that isn't boring. Very unique and flavorful. Big hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2004
We followed the recipes exactly and thought it was tasty and moist. We made pasta instead of rice, which worked out nicely. I might try another reviewers suggestion to add garlic. THanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2002
Fantastic dish! Sophisticated taste, make sure to have rice to go along with dish, we thought we'd detour from the recipe and have fresh baked bread, it just didn't cut it for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2002
My husband and I thought it lacked some flavor. Next time I might try adding garlic to help enrich the taste. Served it over rice. I almost think it tasted better as leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2000
good flavor and very moist. i think i put too many mushrooms in mine, but otherwise this was a great dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-39 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mom's Chicken Cacciatore

A comforting Italian classic with tomatoes, fresh mushrooms, and garlic.

Quick Chicken Piccata

See how to make a classic Italian chicken dish.

Chef John's Chicken Marsala

A classic Italian chicken with mushrooms and wine sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States