Veneto Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
3 tomatoes isnt enough sauce for all that chicken. More like 1 - 28oz can of stew tomaotes to start with. Like other reviews I added garlic 2 cloves, along with the onion. I upped the oregano to at least 2 tsps to give it more flavour than it had. It would have been too bland without the garlic and extra oregano. A good base to play with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RUTHCOOPER

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Thornton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2010
I cut the servings in half, I don't know it that had anything to do with how it came out or not. It was bland, kinda mushy. Maybe I had to much flour on my chicken. I don't think I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
Very good recipe. I used chicken breast instead of a whole chicken, but I think it would be good as written as well. I like the combination of fresh vegetables, vinegar, wine, and spices. Good with spaghetti or rice on the side, to soak up the juices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kalie
Home Town: Canal Fulton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Akron, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2009
This was very tasty! I listened to other reviewers and added a touch of garlic, and used boneless/skinless chicken breasts. The combination of the white wine and balsamic was very nice, and had an enxpected richness. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AZ

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2009
Initially this seems too simple to be good, but the result is very tasty! I used boneless breasts, and I added some garlic to the onion celery mixture, but that's it. It's a great low fat recipe with lots of taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JanineyBeaney

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2008
Awesome chicken recipe!! I followed everything the recipe said, and used little cherry tomatoes and added extra spices...it was a great dinner. I served it over mashed potatoes and had the leftovers all week. It was a great new and different chicken dinner. Even my chef husband was raving!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2008
Very good base recipe but gave it 4 stars because I made changes. I added artichoke hearts, 1 tablespoon of sugar, garlic and more oregano. With these changes it made it a more balanced, less acidic dinner. I served it over rice, it was a nice dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CATWALK16

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2008
This was an awesome recipe. I loved it. I did as previous reviewer and cooked the mushrooms and vinegar separately and that worked good. I didn't have any fresh tomatoes on hand so I put in a can of diced tomatoes with garlic and olive oil--really good. I also kicked it up alot by adding alot of garlic, basil and fresh thyme. I plan on making this a regular at the table. I wonder how adding artichoke hearts would be? May try next time. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2008
This is a very good recipe, and I agree with most of the other reviews. After reading them, I decided to change the recipe a bit, before I tried it. First of all, the one thing I usually do, when a recipe calls for flouring and browning a meat, is to dredge the meat in a mixture of flour, garlic salt, pepper and paprika. This helps add the additional flavor that most of the other reviewers were stating that was missing. Of course, I added garlic to the recipe, as well, and chicken broth. I usually use a chicken broth that has roasted garlic in it. I also use a vegetable broth, instead of water, when making rice. But, I feel the most important factor in this recipe is the balsamic vinegar. In Italy, they use a very thick, old, sweet balsamic vinegar. The real balsamic vinegar, is very expensive, but worth it! It has such a delicous flavor, and when used in this recipe, it is fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hollywood, Florida, USA
Living In: Sanford, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2008
This was very good. I did not seed or peel the tomatoes and I added about 2 tablespoons of sun dried tomatoes in with the mushrooms and served it over brown rice. YUM YUM. Will definitely make this again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Mom's Chicken Cacciatore

A comforting Italian classic with tomatoes, fresh mushrooms, and garlic.

Quick Chicken Piccata

See how to make a classic Italian chicken dish.

Chef John's Calabrian Chicken

The flavors of Calabria, Italy, inspired this grilled chicken recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States