Vendakka Paalu Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2010
I love eating and cooking Indian food, and this was a nice change from the go-to chick peas and veggies. The okra gives it a great, almost sweet flavor. I used a little more jalapeno (I like things spicy), and 2 cups coconut milk so I had more sauce for my naan. I would make this again. The leftovers were even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sueb
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2010
I used only 1T oil, then I added onions and some more okra to the recipe. I used ground coconut and water instead of coconut milk. This made a wonderful meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
Love Inidan food and this recipe is simple and delicious! It's a great way to use up okra from the garden. Ready to make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2011
Doubled the recipe. Used lite coconut milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2011
Perfection! Unique and delicious. I modify nearly every recipe, but I found this one perfect as written. YUM :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2011
Used chicken instead of okra and added brown sugar to this. Brown sugar helped the dish a lot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Ann Marie Natal
Reviewed: May 1, 2014
This was an amazingly flavorful recipe and a creative way to use okra. Didn’t have cardamom or bay leaves but it still tasted beautiful without it. Next time I make this, I will be leaving the golden raisins out. Simple to make and healthy as well. Garnish it with cilantro and serve over a bed of rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ann Marie Natal

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2014
Really good. I make this recipe a lot, and I've found that to keep it creamy like it is shown in one of the photos, I wait to add the coconut milk until the okra has finished cooking, and just let it get warm. Simmering the coconut milk seems to make mine break down and separate and loose it's pretty color and creaminess.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Indian Chickpeas

See how to make garbanzo beans simmered with Indian spices.

Spicy Vegan Potato Curry

See how to make a spicy vegan curry with chickpeas and potatoes.

Indian Eggplant Bhurtha

This delicious Indian vegetarian stew is easy to make and full of flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States