Velvety Pumpkin Soup With Blue Cheese and Bacon Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2013
I made a lot of substitutions - beef broth instead of chicken, maple syrup instead of molasses, cinnamon instead of pumpkin pie spice, bacon bits instead of bacon, whole milk instead of half and half. It still turned out great. It's probably the best pumpkin soup I've ever made. I think the molasses/syrup is what gave it the different flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2012
Very easy to make! I was searching for pumpkin soup recipe and chose this due to the good reviews it had, plus I had all the ingredients on hand. Didn't want to mess with cooking down a real pumpkin. Served it on Thanksgiving - in mini pumpkins as the bowls - a huge hit with everyone!! Will be making again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2012
I have been making this for about 4 years now. The whole family demands that it be made every Thanksgiving; it is now a tradition. My parents, brother and daughter have shared it at different event with raves!! I make it just as it is written. -Valerie
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2012
Excellent!! Used fresh pumpkin and omitted molasses and pumpkin spice and used brown sugar and garlic instead. I also made croutons. The blue cheese and bacon were an excellent addition,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2012
This soup has an incredibly delicious flavor and nice creamy texture. I'm sure it is wonderful as written, but I did have to make a few changes based on what I had on hand. I was 1 cup short of chicken broth, so I used 1 cup of chai tea instead. I didn't have any shallots, so I chopped up an onion and sauteed it in the olive oil, adding the spices after the onion was nice and soft. I let the spices cook for a minute or so, and then added the remaining ingredients, following the recipe as written. This is SO good and so easy! The leftovers are wonderful too and you can change it up to your taste. I'm just now finished eating the last cup of it which I added some cooked quinoa to. Next time I'll double the batch so I can have more leftovers! YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grants Pass, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2011
I thought the addition of bacon and blue cheese was a mistake. Completely different flavors that didn't complement the soup in the least. Soup on its own was nothing exciting. A little sweet. This soup didn't do it for me at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brainerd, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2011
This was very easy and totally delish! I wanted to make it exactly as the recipe states for my first batch, but I'd like to switch out the half and half for lite coconut milk next time I make it just to see what difference it would make. This had just the right amount of spice to it and the addition of the blue cheese crumbles and bacon as a garnish is a perfect complement to the soup's flavor and adds just a little tang to it. I brought a sampling in for a co-worker to try. This is yummy, high-end restaurant quality soup, perfect for a fall day and it's going right in my recipe box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BKBISHOP

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2011
This recipe is great and a big success! I made the following changes: sauted the onions (instead of shallots as I didn't have any) in butter first, then mixed in the pumpkin and half+half. I added water+boullion (as I didn't have chicken stock) to the consistency I wanted which came to quite a bit lesser than 1 quart. Seasoned with salt and added in more bacon than called for in the soup as opposed to using the bacon as garnish. Added blue cheese at the table. Very good. Will be making it again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by merlion

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2011
This was EXCELLENT - used gorgonzola vs. blue cheese 1st time and shredded Parm the 2nd. Used pre-cooked bacon bits. Husband also put croutons on top. So easy and great flavor! A keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
I like thicker soups, so I used 3 cups instead of 1 quart of stock. To make it healthier, I substituted low-sodium stock, fat-free half-and-half, and reduced-fat blue cheese. I left the out the added salt as my stock already contained salt. Turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sunphlowers

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 79) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Cauliflower Soup with Blue Cheese Fritters

Earthy, comforting cauliflower soup is topped with light, cheesy fritters.

Bacon and Potato Soup

A hearty winter soup with potatoes, Cheddar, and bacon.

Pumpkin Soup

This creamy pumpkin soup is a fall favorite.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States