Vel's Christmas Shortbread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2000
These cookies are fabulous! I sprinkled them with a little sugar before I baked them (for looks). They were very quick to make, easy to roll out and cut into shapes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2000
Very very very good! The best.......hum they melt in the mouth...my husban like it so much! Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2000
Maybe I had trouble rolling because I live in the tropics...it just kept crumbling up on me. Not to worry, tho, I just pressed into 2 X 9" cake rounds, sprinkled with coloured sugar, baked for 40 min. WOW! The cast of my kids' Musical Show went nuts and devoured in less than 5 min.! Thanks, Vel & daughter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2002
Lots of kneading but well worth it! I dipped half of the cookie in chocolate and it was oh so good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2002
AWSOME!!! I found this recipe mixed together with out any trouble at all . They are my husbands and kids new favorite . I liked to put a little peanutbutter on top for a quick afternoon snack. They store well. and they don't melt and crumble till AFTER they get to your mouth, then yummm !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2002
I baked these for the holidays and they were a big hit. My kids and I kneaded some mini chocolate chips into the dough and they were awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2002
These were such a hit at Christmas!! I frosted them w/ a simple powdered sugar frosting, & they just flew off the plate. The brown sugar gives them a wonderful flavor w/ a hint of nuttiness. ONLY downside was that these were very hard to handle-- it was hard to roll out the dough & cut the cookies, & they were extremely fragile hot from the oven. I will definitely be making these next year!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2003
I love this shortbread, it is so simple to make and absolutely melts in your mouth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2004
Judy was right! Her mom's shortbread cookie recipe is the best! :-D These were simple but absolutely delicious! I want to add a couple of simple tricks to make these easier to make though. I used the dough hooks on my mixer to incorporate all the flour. From a "grocery store check out cookbook" I found a shortbread recipe that called for non pariels (4 Tbsp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Smyrna, Georgia, USA
Living In: Powder Springs, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2004
Great recipe! I iced them with powdered sugar icing & red & green colored sugar to dress them up for Christmas. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Shortbread Supreme

See how to make the ultimate Christmas cookie.

Blueberry Shortbread Bars

See how to make delicious fresh berry bars.

Caramel Shortbread Squares

Can’t decide between cookies, caramel candies, or chocolates? They're all three!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States