Vel's Christmas Shortbread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2007
Excellent. Some advice for those having trouble, sift your flour BEFORE you measure it. Sifted flour is much bigger in volume. If you don't sift you are adding too much flour overall, resulting in too-dry dough. Also, use salted butter, or there's no taste, and let the butter be room-temp soft. These are classic cookies! Yum!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MornDew247

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2001
I have tried this and, after creaming butter and sugar, I get such a 'melty' batter that I've begun to add powdered sugar to try to firm it up so that it can be rolled out---or even pressed into a pan. What have I done wrong? Trudy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2002
AWSOME!!! I found this recipe mixed together with out any trouble at all . They are my husbands and kids new favorite . I liked to put a little peanutbutter on top for a quick afternoon snack. They store well. and they don't melt and crumble till AFTER they get to your mouth, then yummm !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2002
I baked these for the holidays and they were a big hit. My kids and I kneaded some mini chocolate chips into the dough and they were awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2002
These were such a hit at Christmas!! I frosted them w/ a simple powdered sugar frosting, & they just flew off the plate. The brown sugar gives them a wonderful flavor w/ a hint of nuttiness. ONLY downside was that these were very hard to handle-- it was hard to roll out the dough & cut the cookies, & they were extremely fragile hot from the oven. I will definitely be making these next year!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2000
the best!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2002
Lots of kneading but well worth it! I dipped half of the cookie in chocolate and it was oh so good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2000
For a roll out dough its not at all good we worked all morning and couldn't get it to stop crumbling. My 9 year brother was VERY frustrated... we ended up making them into thumb print cookies (not easy either!) and filled them with different jams. They ARE delicious but not at all easy when you have a LOT of holiday baking like I do.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2000
Maybe I had trouble rolling because I live in the tropics...it just kept crumbling up on me. Not to worry, tho, I just pressed into 2 X 9" cake rounds, sprinkled with coloured sugar, baked for 40 min. WOW! The cast of my kids' Musical Show went nuts and devoured in less than 5 min.! Thanks, Vel & daughter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2001
These cookies are very dependable! Perfect for intricate cookie cutter designs. I enjoyed adding extra butter to the recipe for taste. I eventually made some with everything from toffee chips to sprinkles and even frosted some. very yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Shortbread Supreme

See how to make the ultimate Christmas cookie.

Soft Christmas Cookies

Buttery sugar cookies perfect for the holidays or any occasion.

Blueberry Shortbread Bars

See how to make delicious fresh berry bars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States