Vel's Christmas Shortbread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2006
I have tried several shortbread recipes looking for my favorite. This is it! Instead of rolling the dough, I pressed it into a jelly roll pan (10" x 15" one recipe fits perfectly) and scored the dough prior to baking, then rescored and cut along the same lines when it came out of the oven. No other changes and the result is an excellent cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2006
I made a mistake by adding all the flour in at the same time, so it didn't turn out very well. I put gheridelli semi-sweet chocolate chips to make it look appealing, but it looked like it was unbaked chocolate chip cookies. If it wasn't for the chocolate, my friends wouldn't have ate them. However, I liked eating them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2005
i found it a little dissapointing. i was expecting a melt in your mouth experience and did not get it. it is a little dry. i had to add water to make it moist enough to stick together
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SYLVIETOROK-NAGY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2005
Great recipe to have in your repetoire, always goes down a storm every time I make it. I usually add chocolate chunks to it, or at Christmas use a christmas tree cutter and dip the tops in white chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2004
Great recipe! I iced them with powdered sugar icing & red & green colored sugar to dress them up for Christmas. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2004
Judy was right! Her mom's shortbread cookie recipe is the best! :-D These were simple but absolutely delicious! I want to add a couple of simple tricks to make these easier to make though. I used the dough hooks on my mixer to incorporate all the flour. From a "grocery store check out cookbook" I found a shortbread recipe that called for non pariels (4 Tbsp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Smyrna, Georgia, USA
Living In: Powder Springs, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2003
I did not like this recipe at all. The dough was far too dry and I had to add a good 1/4 - 1/2 cup of liquid to create a consistency suitable for rolling. Even then the shortbread was too dry and didn't melt in my mouth. I would suggest another shortbread recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2003
I made these on quite a hot day, and my butter was very very soft(almost melting), and i found that the mix came together quite well. Everyone loved them, so give em a try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2003
Delicious! I did have a lot of trouble getting the mixture to come together but I just added some extra butter and it worked fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2003
I love this shortbread, it is so simple to make and absolutely melts in your mouth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Shortbread Supreme

See how to make the ultimate Christmas cookie.

Blueberry Shortbread Bars

See how to make delicious fresh berry bars.

Caramel Shortbread Squares

Can’t decide between cookies, caramel candies, or chocolates? They're all three!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States