Veggie and Cilantro Hummus Sandwiches Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by The Messy Cook
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2008
FROM THE RECIPE MAKER: You may also substitute unmarinaded sliced avocados in the place of cucumbers when in a bind or for a different twist. Messy cook's motto: Recipes are a guideline to discovering what you like best. So learn, practice, experiment, and don't be afraid to make a mess. Happy Cooking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Messy Cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Aberdeen, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2010
Hummus was the only thing that I made, I didn't mean to revamp the recipe, but the main ingredient is so expensive at 8.00 a jar, so I used already made garlic hummus. I added it to the food processor along with 1 full bunch of cilantro and about 1/4 teaspoon chipole powder and 1/2 teaspoon onion powder and a pinch of salt and mixed. It was so simple and tasted just like Panera's . My son loves it, saids it taste better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maggie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pismo Beach, California, USA
Living In: Lusby, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2008
Found the hummus to be a far too salty. Had to add tahini, oil, lemon juice to cut it. I like the idea, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Seattle Dad

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Owosso, Michigan, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2009
This was rather bland hummus. I added more cilantro and paprika, but it still was salty and otherwise tasteless.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by xiaocupcake

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fayetteville, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2008
Very reminiscent of "p-bread". I didn't really change anything, except I did the marinated veggies called for + avocado slices. And I added only half of the salt called for in the hummus. This one is a keeper, great weeknight dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2010
Yummy! Great fillng lunch! I did leave the tahini and feta cheese off, to make a lower fat version. Plus I am not a big fan of how tahinni paste changes the flavor of hummus. Added less fresh cilantro so as not to over power the whole sandwich; glad I did. Plus I didn't notice until too late the hummus spread called for minced garlic, and garlic powder. Would have added more minced and no garlic powder. Other than those small tweaks, I loved this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2010
this is just like penera's veggy sandwich but the cucumbers are marinated. you could make this easier and its just as wonderful with plane sliced cucumbers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2009
I make just the hummus and always have some on hand around our house. We eat it on a rgular basis with toasted pita points. It makes a great snack for my 2-year-old.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DEZIREE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by DetectiveL
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2008
The sandwich is great, though I used a little less red wine vinegar for the dressing (just my preference--I find it too strong). The hummus is very yummy itself, though I added more oil, garlic, and cilantro for taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DetectiveL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2008
I only made the hummus but it was wonderful! Better than the cilantro hummus I buy at Whole Foods. I used the liquid from the chick peas to thin it out a bit. I served this at a party this last weekend and everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Greek Salad and Hummus

Two classic Greek recipes come together for an easy appetizer or main dish.

BBQ Pork for Sandwiches

This tasty pork is great on your favorite bun. It’s simple to make, too.

Delicious Egg Salad for Sandwiches

See how to make a classic egg salad for sandwiches and crackers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States