Veggie and Cilantro Hummus Sandwiches Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2008
This is the best hummus I have tasted, and I have tried a lot of them. What it needs is a tsp. of olive oil in the end.Loved the sandwich too......5 stars all the way!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by The Messy Cook
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2008
FROM THE RECIPE MAKER: You may also substitute unmarinaded sliced avocados in the place of cucumbers when in a bind or for a different twist. Messy cook's motto: Recipes are a guideline to discovering what you like best. So learn, practice, experiment, and don't be afraid to make a mess. Happy Cooking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Messy Cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Aberdeen, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: May 5, 2008
This IS really really good. I was a little skeptical with the strong sesame oil and cilantro. I marinated the veggies overnight in the liquid. I did change the hummus recipe and followed my favourite (hummus III from this site), and added cilantro to the batch. I also served it with sprouts on a whole grain pita. Really Great! I will make this again and again. VERY refreshing, perfect for spring/summer veggies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pinkypink

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2008
I didn't make the sandwich but I made the Hummus, Boy was it a hit, even with those who didn't know what hummus was and were afraid of the strong scent of the Cilantro. Everyone who tried it really enjoyed it and I didn't change a thing...THIS IS AWESOME
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2008
I only made the hummus but it was wonderful! Better than the cilantro hummus I buy at Whole Foods. I used the liquid from the chick peas to thin it out a bit. I served this at a party this last weekend and everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2008
Very reminiscent of "p-bread". I didn't really change anything, except I did the marinated veggies called for + avocado slices. And I added only half of the salt called for in the hummus. This one is a keeper, great weeknight dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2009
This recipe hit the spot!! We love this sandwich from a coffee shop. I did include sweet peppers as well. I also put a little tomato pesto on the bread because I couldn't find the Tomato Basil Bread. We used a Foccacia instead. Lastly, my Tahini was out of date but I had store bought hummus and processed the cilantro in that!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2009
I make just the hummus and always have some on hand around our house. We eat it on a rgular basis with toasted pita points. It makes a great snack for my 2-year-old.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DEZIREE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2010
this is just like penera's veggy sandwich but the cucumbers are marinated. you could make this easier and its just as wonderful with plane sliced cucumbers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2010
Yummy! Great fillng lunch! I did leave the tahini and feta cheese off, to make a lower fat version. Plus I am not a big fan of how tahinni paste changes the flavor of hummus. Added less fresh cilantro so as not to over power the whole sandwich; glad I did. Plus I didn't notice until too late the hummus spread called for minced garlic, and garlic powder. Would have added more minced and no garlic powder. Other than those small tweaks, I loved this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Greek Salad and Hummus

Two classic Greek recipes come together for an easy appetizer or main dish.

BBQ Pork for Sandwiches

This tasty pork is great on your favorite bun. It’s simple to make, too.

Delicious Egg Salad for Sandwiches

See how to make a classic egg salad for sandwiches and crackers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States