Veggie Vegetarian Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2007
This recipe is good, but I made some changes. First I drained the beans (and added veggie stock), left out the mushrooms, and added celery. I also cooked this for much longer, close to an hour. Very filling and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
194 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2006
I really enjoyed this recipe and have gotten many compliments on it. It is also very adaptable and forgiving :) I also like that it makes a huge amount of food, for less $ than some of the other chili recipes on here. I've added some zucchinni that was about to turn, played w/the beans and added only red pepper, or only green pepper. The only thing I like to keep constant is the spices (well actually, I estimate according to the recipe), and play w/the vegetables. Another thing I've changed is to rinse the beans and add a little more water. Otherwise, you get caught up with ridiculous gas pains. Great great recipe, thanks so much!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
141 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2008
I've finally found it- the perfect recipe for bean veggie chili!! I love Stagg's Garden Vegetable Chili, but would like it to be more "fresh" and less salty. Well, this is like a fresher, healthier version of that chili. I just love it! I omitted the mushrooms, added one jalepeno and had to use roasted red peppers for the red ones because I was out of fresh. I made this in the crockpot and it worked out perfectly. I added about 1/2 cup of water but around midday, it was too thin so I added a 6 oz. can of no-salt tomato paste. I love, love, love this recipe! It makes A LOT too- we'll be enjoying this for a few days- yay! I might try freezing some. I served this with Fry Bread I for dinner. Oh, my one-year old loved this too. He just ate and ate and ate. Good for the whole family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
110 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by What a Dish!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2007
We were having a potluck at work for a vegetarian co-worker who was leaving our department so I thought I'd give this recipe a try. It came out so delicious! I added a small can of diced jalepeno's to give it an extra kick and it made the flavor perfect! I used all the liquid from the beans but I drained the liquid from the corn. I cooked the chili until the consistency was what I wanted. I read some say they thought it was too runny. Not the case if you cook it longer. This chili looks so pretty too with all the different colors from the beans, corn and jalepeno. Great recipe! I will make it again...thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tiger Cakes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by DetectiveL
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2008
An excellent chili. Omitted corn (too starchy) and carrots (hate mushy carrots) and added zucchini, which is great in this chili. I will use zucchini in it from now on. Needed more spice, so next time I will add a jalapeno pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DetectiveL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2007
This was the best chili recipe I have ever tried! The mushrooms were a great touch; they gave it sort of a meaty texture. The only two tweaks I made: omitting the carrots and tossing everything in the crockpot to simmer all day while I was at work. We will DEFINITELY make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2008
This was great! In my effort to get more beans into my kids without their knowing it, I pureed about half of the beans and 1/4 of the tomatoes. This thickened it up, and my husband commented that he loved the thickness of it. I also added a little ground turkey and topped with a sprinkle of raw cheddar cheese and tortilla chips. Delicioso!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2007
This recipe was sooo good! I added chickpeas and fresh tomatoes but the recipe is very no fail, makes a lot and stays well in the fridge. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albany, New York, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2007
I thought this chili was awesome. It is a very versatile recipe, allowing for substitutions based on preferences or what you have on hand. My daughter and I are vegetarians, and on weight watchers, and this is a great meal that is low in points and very filling. I eliminated the carrots and substituted an extra can of black beans for the pinto beans, just because I really don't like carrots or pinto beans. I am going to try freezing some of the next batch. Thanks for a great recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2007
Awesome chili! I added a little extra chili powder as suggested by other reviewers, and I steamed the carrots for a few minutes before adding them because I was afraid they might not be tender enough. A really hearty (and healthy!) meal that makes great left overs! Next time I might get brave and add a jalepeno...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHEFFY4

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 201) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

The Best Vegetarian Chili in the World

This tasty chili is packed with healthy beans and veggies.

Meatless Three-Bean Chili

See how to make a tasty vegetarian chili with three beans and corn.

Insanely Easy Vegetarian Chili

See how to make a simple chili with beans and loads of veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States