Veggie Vegetarian Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2011
Very flavorful, made a lot! Added a package of veggie crumbles, and some cayenne for heat. Fed it to a crowd of vegetarians and meat eaters and both loved it. Great with corn bread. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2011
My vegetarian daughter loved it, and so did my meat eating husband. I made it spicier for them and they thought it was great. I did omit the mushrooms due to allergies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2011
I doubled the recipe for freezing. I added celery, white kidney beans, broccoli, tomato paste and more garlic. I substituted baby corn pieces for the kernels. I also added a tablespoon and a half of cocoa powder to darken it up...sounds crazy I know, but I've been doing it for years and tricked many a carnivore. I also like to add Chipotle Tabasco to spice it up and give it a smokey flavor. Serve topped with grated cheddar and a dollop of sour cream! I like the idea someone had of pureeing some of the beans to thicken it up, I'll try that next time. Oh, and I rinsed the flatulence out of the beans I used, no need to be haunted by this meal the next day;) If you need to step up the protein, serve it over quinoa, or add it right in!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
a little bland
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2011
Just awesome! Best chilli I have ever tasted let alone MADE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2011
Thisi came out great! I used 1 can chickpeas, 1 can black beans, 1can Mexi-corn (Green Giant).I did not add pinto or kidney beans. Everything else the same but added 2-3 Tbsp of tom paste (the tube tom paste). I think because I used less beans and a kept the veggies the same it now gives it more juice. Try it, it's great! I give it a 5 star
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2011
I have just made this for the first time and it was my first attempt at a chili. I used dried minced garlic instead of fresh and added a few extra spices, Cajun pepper, more chili powder, and Tabasco. For the beans I choose 1 can red kidney, 1 can chick peas, and 1 can mixed beans, I also added more mushrooms, I pretty much double all raw veggies. My only issue with this receipe is that when first starting the process I burned the pot due to lack of liquid when trying to get the carrots and peppers to become tender. As someone who can not eat beef I was very pleased with this receipe and would make it again! My husband would suggest to add either ground turkey or diced chicken. Over all a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenn

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2011
One of my favorite chili recipes. So delicious and is plenty hearty. I would probably add some jalapenos for heat next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2011
I could see from the ingredients in the recipe that you wanted to add the liquid from the canned beans to thicken the chili, but the taste was awful when the liquid was added. You really need to drain the beans and find a different way to thicken the chili, but the recipe wasn't good enough IMHO to bother trying to figure out how to fix it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Waterloo, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2011
I love this recipe, and so do all my friends/coworkers! I always add the veggie crumbles at the end, and no one even realizes it's meat free! I'm a little liberal with the spices, usually add celery and zucchini, and have found that adding a tin of tomato sauce and tomato paste makes it more authentic. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 204) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

The Best Vegetarian Chili in the World

This tasty chili is packed with healthy beans and veggies.

Meatless Three-Bean Chili

See how to make a tasty vegetarian chili with three beans and corn.

Insanely Easy Vegetarian Chili

See how to make a simple chili with beans and loads of veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States