Veggie Vegetarian Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2012
Made this tonight and I REALLY like it! I'm constantly experimenting with chili recipes and wanted to try a vegetarian version. I did make some substitutions based on what I had in the pantry: diced tomatoes w/green chilis instead of whole, garbanzos instead of pintos, small can of mexicorn, and added zucchini. I did rinse the beans to reduce sodium & gassy after-effects, so I added a can of tomato sauce & a splash of red wine. I hit it a few times with my immersion blender to make the texture a bit creamier for my 18 month old. I also adjusted the spices to taste, adding a bit more of everything. I served it with cheese quesadillas for a super-yummy meatless Monday dinner. I can't wait to have leftovers tomorrow since I'm sure it'll taste even better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2012
Very good veggie chili - when I make it again I will add cilantro at the end, and maybe a bit of cheese as a garnish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portage, Michigan, USA
Living In: River Falls, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2012
Just awesome. Didn't change a thing :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bernadette

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Slave Lake, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2012
I am very much a meat guy but as I am on a weight loss kick I need good substantial food to substitute for my usual high protein diet. This recipe more than makes up for the lack of meat. It tastes like chili, you barely miss the meat and it's super low calorie, 179 calories per one cup serving, and being vegetarian it is low in all other components. I ended up using chick peas in place of pinto beans due to the pinto beans nt being available and added some McCormicks Chipotle Chili Pepper for kick, other than that I wouldn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
Great, just needed some tweaks for our tastes. Made it twice! use extra veg oil Add extra veggies plus add celery & jalapeño Add Salt 1T kosher Increase cumin to 3t Add Chipolte Pepper 1T less kidney beans - extra other beans
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
I made this today. It was amazing. I added some celery and used a orange pepper instead of a green pepper. I added a jalapeno and some frank's hot sauce and it was the perfect spice and so flavourful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2012
Love this recipe. Very flexible! i added a ton more veggies than beans and played with the spices. Adding chiptole peppers adds a nice southwestern kick to the chili.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2012
This was great! One of the most delicious chilies I've had. I added cheese on top to garnish, and I also served it with some garlic bread to dip into the chill. Yummm!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
I tweaked the recipe a little. I added chick peas and celery, and I drained all of the beans I added. To substitute for this, I added about 3/4 C of veggie stock. the chili came out kind of bland, it needed another kick of something. Maybe chili paste?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
I love this recipe. Its so easy to make and i got a ton of compliments when i served it at a friends Christmas dinner. I made a few changes: instead of adding the tomates and sauce i used tomato paste - i found it gave the chili a thicker consistency, which i prefer. I only added the liquid for 2 of the cans of beans, omitted the corn, green pepper, and carrots. I added 1 small jalapeno for a little kick. I threw all the ingredients in a crockpot and left it to simmer on low for whole day . Thanks for this recipe - i'll definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 206) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

The Best Vegetarian Chili in the World

This tasty chili is packed with healthy beans and veggies.

Meatless Three-Bean Chili

See how to make a tasty vegetarian chili with three beans and corn.

Insanely Easy Vegetarian Chili

See how to make a simple chili with beans and loads of veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States