Veggie Vegetarian Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2012
My family loved this recipe and the second day it tasted even better. I am thinking of using this as a filler for tacos instead of ground beef. I was afraid that chili powder would make the recipe too spicy, so I only used 1 tablespoon but I realized afterward that using 2 would have been fine. Thank you for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tira N Gilchrest

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2012
Excellent and Easy my two favorite things! I add adobe peppers, makes it a little more smokey and spicy. Oh, and I always forget to chop my whole peeled tomatoes so I have to mash as a go.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2012
Loved this recipe. I did drain the beans as another reviewer suggested. I couldn't find Pinto beans so I used Romano along with white Kidney beans & black beans. Also added about another 2 tablespoons of chili powder to suit our taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2012
Very good! This was my first time making chili, and it turned out very well. I left out all the vegetables except beans and onions, so I'm rating the seasoning, which was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2012
Made this tonight and I REALLY like it! I'm constantly experimenting with chili recipes and wanted to try a vegetarian version. I did make some substitutions based on what I had in the pantry: diced tomatoes w/green chilis instead of whole, garbanzos instead of pintos, small can of mexicorn, and added zucchini. I did rinse the beans to reduce sodium & gassy after-effects, so I added a can of tomato sauce & a splash of red wine. I hit it a few times with my immersion blender to make the texture a bit creamier for my 18 month old. I also adjusted the spices to taste, adding a bit more of everything. I served it with cheese quesadillas for a super-yummy meatless Monday dinner. I can't wait to have leftovers tomorrow since I'm sure it'll taste even better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2012
Very good veggie chili - when I make it again I will add cilantro at the end, and maybe a bit of cheese as a garnish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portage, Michigan, USA
Living In: River Falls, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2012
Just awesome. Didn't change a thing :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bernadette

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Slave Lake, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2012
I am very much a meat guy but as I am on a weight loss kick I need good substantial food to substitute for my usual high protein diet. This recipe more than makes up for the lack of meat. It tastes like chili, you barely miss the meat and it's super low calorie, 179 calories per one cup serving, and being vegetarian it is low in all other components. I ended up using chick peas in place of pinto beans due to the pinto beans nt being available and added some McCormicks Chipotle Chili Pepper for kick, other than that I wouldn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
Great, just needed some tweaks for our tastes. Made it twice! use extra veg oil Add extra veggies plus add celery & jalapeño Add Salt 1T kosher Increase cumin to 3t Add Chipolte Pepper 1T less kidney beans - extra other beans
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
I made this today. It was amazing. I added some celery and used a orange pepper instead of a green pepper. I added a jalapeno and some frank's hot sauce and it was the perfect spice and so flavourful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 200) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

The Best Vegetarian Chili in the World

This tasty chili is packed with healthy beans and veggies.

Meatless Three-Bean Chili

See how to make a tasty vegetarian chili with three beans and corn.

Insanely Easy Vegetarian Chili

See how to make a simple chili with beans and loads of veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States