Veggie Vegetarian Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2013
Quite good, but I definitely enjoyed it more when vegetable stock replaced the liquid from the undrained beans. :) -Kiley
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2013
I added green chilies, green onions and a little cilantro. I used garbanzos instead of pintos. I made sure and rinsed all of the beans and added water to make up for the liquid. I loved it and everyone that I served it to loved it too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan Duncan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2013
This recipe turned out awesome. My husband who is a diehard meat eater loved it. He asked me not to make it to often because it ruined his street cred. I stuck to the recipe and just added a little pepper and red pepper to taste. I have been looking for a vegetarian recipe and this is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2013
Love this.. 3rd time cooking it tonight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2013
YUM! This made a lot, even halving the recipe! So I divided it into containers to freeze. I did double up on the veggies & added green beans in place of the corn; sauteed the mushrooms, onions & peppers in some beef stock to give it some meaty flavor (hubby's a carnivore); & used an extra chili seasoning packet bc I was low on chili. Tonight mixed w/whole wheat elbows & cheese. This is a great budget friendly recipe, a great way to get extra veggies onto your plate..and MOSTLY..delicious! Thank YOU.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rotterdam, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2013
Deeeeee-lish!!! I followed other users suggestions and drained the beans and aded extra garlic. Other than that, I used maple baked beans instead of pinto beans, I ground my own cumin, and used only yellow peppers instead of red and green. I love this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2012
Great recipe, it seems... my husband came home and couldn't wait to taste it, as it smelled so good. He is now licking his bowl, repeatedly saying THIS IS SO GOOD." I took another reviewer's suggestions and drained (and rinsed somewhat) the bean and added celery (but keeping the mushrooms in). P.S. My husband now added "That was so good... I'm going to have some more. Is that OK?" :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2012
Loved this chili! The only change I made was to use a 15 oz can of tomatoes with green chilis in place of the whole tomatoes and added two cups of vegetable juice (v-8). This gave this chili a great flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Auburn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2012
So, I've made this twice, and I'm actually half way through making it for a third time and I decided to write this review. First of all, it's really good. I make the full recipe and since I live with myself, I just keep the leftovers in a huge bowl and I have food for like a week. It's not very hot though (more on this later). I made a few adjustments. First of all, I don't think 1 tablespoon of vegetable oil is enough, and I question the use of vegetable oil over extra virgin olive oil (I think I'm going to try it with olive oil this time). Second, I used 1 28 oz can of diced tomatoes. I do not understand the reasoning behind using whole peeled tomatoes. It seems to work just fine my way. Third, the intro paragraph suggests maybe adding vegetarian burger crumbles. This is something I HIGHLY recommend. You can get "Gimme Lean" ground-beef style vegetarian... fake meat (I'm not sure what to call it), and crumble it into small pieces and add it in while it's boiling. Lastly, and this one is entirely preference, I recommend adding 1 teaspoon to 1 tablespoon of Tabasco sauce once the thing comes to a boil if it's not hot enough for you. All in all, I highly recommend it, it's really fun to make, it tastes great and it's pretty good for you (I assume, I mean look at the ingredients). Protip: Serve with cheddar jack cheese and sour cream (unless you're vegan) on top and some tortilla chips for dipping! It's like liquid salad! ...in a good way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2012
My family loved this recipe and the second day it tasted even better. I am thinking of using this as a filler for tacos instead of ground beef. I was afraid that chili powder would make the recipe too spicy, so I only used 1 tablespoon but I realized afterward that using 2 would have been fine. Thank you for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tira N Gilchrest

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 199) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

The Best Vegetarian Chili in the World

This tasty chili is packed with healthy beans and veggies.

Meatless Three-Bean Chili

See how to make a tasty vegetarian chili with three beans and corn.

Insanely Easy Vegetarian Chili

See how to make a simple chili with beans and loads of veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States