Veggie Vegetarian Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2009
Made this the other day and it turned out great! Very simply and great tasting, not to mention healthy. Thank you for a wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2009
Got a pot simmering right now, and wow. Good stuff. Like so many others, I made a couple additions: 1 12-oz pack of browned veggie crumbles, 2 diced jalapeños, 2 diced Serranos, dash of habañero sauce (what can I say, I like spice), and chopped zucchini. And since it's fall, a dash of pumpkin pie spice for a touch of sweet. Also, I grilled the peppers instead of including them in step 1. Gotta love chili. Such wonderful kitchen alchemy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fozzie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2009
I really love this as a base recipe. I play with the veggies a lot, and tend to use Bush's chili beans since I'm not a fan of kidney beans. I also don't like cooked peppers very much so I omit those. It always comes out very yummy. It's hearty and delicious! One note on the carrots, though - when I sautee them like the recipe calls for, they never cook to tender for some reason. I personally love them al dente, but hubbie and daughter do not so I skip the saute and just let them simmer for a while until tender. I think this is a 5 star recipe but gave it 4 because I alter it all the time to my specific taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2009
This is the best vegetarian chili I have ever made. I left out the corn 'cause nobody here likes it. Instead I added a finely chopped zucchini. I cook my own beans because I don't like the extra salt and starch in canned ones so added two cups of homemade garlic broth for extra liquid. We like our chili spicier than this so added hot pepper flakes at the table. Awesome! Thanks so much for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JIMANNI

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Acton, Greater London, England, U.K.
Living In: New Hamburg, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2009
This was the best chili ever. My boyfriend and I both loved it. Left out the Cumin but added 2 tbspns of Chili powder, extra can of kidney beans, 1/4 cup fresh parsley and a 1/2 cup of vegetable stock. My boyfriend hates all cooked vegetables but could not stop eating this!! for sure will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2009
I left out the carrots because I am not a fan of cooked carrots. Didn't have room in the crock pot to add the corn. It left an after-taste in my mouth. I think it was the cumin. My daughter stated that she enjoyed it after she added some sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kay

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mobile, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2009
Try adding Yves veggie ground beef and roasted unsalted cashews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2009
Very good, and easy for beginner cooks! Very filling, too. I added slightly more bell pepper and beans than called for, and omitted the mushroom. Next time I would throw in celery and zucchini, too. Overall, a great recipe for vegetarians and meat eaters alike.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2009
Yummy.. We Loved It, I just added a bit more bell pepper.. we love bell pepper! it was great.. thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AntoinettePeeps

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LilPhotog
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2009
This is such an easy recipe. There's a lot of prep work but you can substitute almost anything and it will still taste good. Not spicy as written but you can change according to taste - easier to make it spicier than less!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 199) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

The Best Vegetarian Chili in the World

This tasty chili is packed with healthy beans and veggies.

Meatless Three-Bean Chili

See how to make a tasty vegetarian chili with three beans and corn.

Insanely Easy Vegetarian Chili

See how to make a simple chili with beans and loads of veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States