Veggie Soup with Basil Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2009
This is a good recipe for late summer when many of the ingredients are fresh and in season. I added a chopped green pepper and a banana pepper. I sauteed the onions and peppers in a small amount of olive oil for a few minutes, before adding the stock and other ingredients.I substituted frozen baby lima beans for green beans. I had fresh basil from the garden available and used about 1/2 cup of chopped basil along with about 4 medium sized roma/plum tomatoes (chopped) and added that to the corn. I did not bother with pesto sauce since I added the ingredients directly into the soup at the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wmihalo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hammond, Indiana, USA
Living In: Munster, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2009
I have a large family and few of them tend to like any given dinner. My most finicky eater pronounced this a very good soup and even had seconds! Thanks for a simple and fabulous soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2007
Loved this recipe. I didn't have tomato puree on hand so I used tomato sauce and thickened it with a bit of corn starch. VERY EASY! Served with garlic bread and this was a filling meal. Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen St Clair-Nippert

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burlingame, California, USA
Living In: Pearisburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2011
I don't particularly love the soy sauce, but once you add the basil-sauce mixture, this soup is good. I'd suggest using your favorite broth instead of soy sauce, if you don't like a lot of soy sauce in foods. I substituted the vegetables to suit my tastes (more potatoes, no corn, used fresh tomatoes in the sauce), and I will make this again using broth, instead of soy sauce. I do really like how the sauce in step 2 adds a nice flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2002
This soup was pretty good, and could have been made with or without the tomato basil sauce, especially if bullion was added. It may have been because I was cooking for 50 girls, but the potatoes took quite a while to cook. A great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2006
This soup is delicious. I love the pesto with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2011
Very good. Hearty and light at the same time. Definately a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2006
This soup was just okay. It wasn't as flavorful as I like my soups to be.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Rich and Creamy Tomato Basil Soup

This creamy soup is made with fresh tomatoes, cream, and butter.

Chilled Sugar Snap Pea Soup

A classic chilled spring soup with sugar snap peas.

How to Make Cold Cucumber Soup

Make this sour-cream and yogurt cucumber soup with an immersion blender.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States