Veggie Soup with Basil Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2009
I have a large family and few of them tend to like any given dinner. My most finicky eater pronounced this a very good soup and even had seconds! Thanks for a simple and fabulous soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2006
This soup is delicious. I love the pesto with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2007
Loved this recipe. I didn't have tomato puree on hand so I used tomato sauce and thickened it with a bit of corn starch. VERY EASY! Served with garlic bread and this was a filling meal. Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burlingame, California, USA
Living In: Pearisburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2009
This is a good recipe for late summer when many of the ingredients are fresh and in season. I added a chopped green pepper and a banana pepper. I sauteed the onions and peppers in a small amount of olive oil for a few minutes, before adding the stock and other ingredients.I substituted frozen baby lima beans for green beans. I had fresh basil from the garden available and used about 1/2 cup of chopped basil along with about 4 medium sized roma/plum tomatoes (chopped) and added that to the corn. I did not bother with pesto sauce since I added the ingredients directly into the soup at the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wmihalo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hammond, Indiana, USA
Living In: Munster, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2002
This soup was pretty good, and could have been made with or without the tomato basil sauce, especially if bullion was added. It may have been because I was cooking for 50 girls, but the potatoes took quite a while to cook. A great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2011
Very good. Hearty and light at the same time. Definately a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2011
I don't particularly love the soy sauce, but once you add the basil-sauce mixture, this soup is good. I'd suggest using your favorite broth instead of soy sauce, if you don't like a lot of soy sauce in foods. I substituted the vegetables to suit my tastes (more potatoes, no corn, used fresh tomatoes in the sauce), and I will make this again using broth, instead of soy sauce. I do really like how the sauce in step 2 adds a nice flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2006
This soup was just okay. It wasn't as flavorful as I like my soups to be.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Rich and Creamy Tomato Basil Soup

This creamy soup is made with fresh tomatoes, cream, and butter.

How to Make Cold Cucumber Soup

Make this sour-cream and yogurt cucumber soup with an immersion blender.

Cabbage Fat-Burning Soup

This healthy soup has a tomato broth and seven kinds of fresh, healthy veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States