Veggie Potato Salad for a Crowd Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2013
This is going in the rotation - great for potlucks! I made 8 servings and it was enough for about 4 meals as a (large) side. I blanched the beans (you can use the potato water when they're done) and skipped the capers (because I forgot to buy them) and it was delicious! I will definitely try with the capers next time and/or try another reviewer's idea of adding anchovies (yum!). I will probably also roast the potatoes whole instead of boiling. The smaller the potatoes the better - would work with any firm-fleshed variety (purple? golden nugget? fingerling?), just don't overcook them. Oh yeah, I also added just a touch of maple syrup to the dressing, used a grainy mustard, and a lot less onion, very finely chopped.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2013
I gave this recipe five stars because it can be changed to include just about any vegetable you have in your fridge. Reduced the amount of oil used and added that secret ingredient--anchovy. So many people say they don't like anchovies but it does a layer of flavor that no one recognizes an anchovy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2012
this is a good recipe and very easy. did receive some complements on it. i omitted the capers but i think it needs them. needed a bit more salt or tang but will try the capers next time. thanks for submitting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2012
I made 6 servings of this today and we liked the combination of flavors once I could get my green bean hating family members to try it. The capers are a nice touch, especially if serving with grilled burgers with herbed feta cheese. It is a nice, healthy alternative to higher fat potato salads.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fulton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Bremerton, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2011
really good, skipped the tomatoes and capers
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2011
Bright, colorful, delicious potato salad. Made this for Easter lunch and really liked it. It does need the salt and pepper to draw all the flavors together. This salad held up very well for leftovers 2 days after Easter. I liked how pretty and presentable it was. Great summer dish with fresh green beans and new red potatoes. Thanks Jean for submitting this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2009
Fantastic! I am always looking for ways to pack in lots of veggies and a potato salad that isn't oozing in mayo. This was the best find. My husband and I love it so much that we made it for our wedding buffet and our guests raved about it. My suggestion is to save the dressing in a seperate container and add just before serving- it tasts best that way and is one of the few recipes that does not benefit from marinading overnight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2009
Great for something different! Next time I might add some corn and less oil - probably cut the amount in half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Holland, Michigan, USA
Living In: Huntsville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2009
wonderful salad... don't omit a thing. After cooking green beans put them in cold ice water to stop cooking process. Keep potatoes and green beans crisp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cocoakay
Home Town: Woodburn, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2008
This was good. Next time I will make a couple of changes by omitting the tomatoes and capers, and just using my own oil based dressing, but this is a good base to then play with and perfect your own style of potato salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Nelson, Nelson-Marlborough, New Zealand

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Grilled Veggie Sandwich and Potato Salad

This grilled sandwich is so hearty, you could almost call it "meaty."

How to Make Country Potato Salad

A picnic classic, this country-style potato salad has a zesty zing!

World’s Best Potato Salad

Watch how to make this creamy potato salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States