Veggie Pot Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2010
Absolutely delicious and easy to make! I change out the veggies and sometimes use chicken broth and add chicken. It's always great! Don't leave out the cauliflower! Besides being healthy, it is particularly yummy in this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by grammyjammy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2010
Very good. A little salty though with the soy sauce and store-bought broth. Next time I won't add the extra salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stacey

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2010
Delicious!! Now, I only gave 4 stars because it did not taste like a real pot-pie. It tasted more like a veggie stew in a pie. Still VEERRY delicious though! Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2010
Love this recipe! I add beans to punch up some protein. My kids eat it right up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2010
I was pleasantly surprised that the soy flavor was not too overpowering. Maybe I would try a different flavoring next time, but the pie was still very good. didn't use the green beans, and used broccoli instead of cauliflower. I had about 1 and 1/2 cups of extra veggie filling left over. (used a 9" deep dish pie pan which holds the same amount as a 11x7 or 8x8 pan.) Spooned veggies into dough-filled pie pan, trying not to add liquid to the pie, but some liquid still came out of the pie and dripped into my oven while baking. So I recommend putting foil under your pie to catch drips. I also prebaked the shell for about 5 min, as others suggested. I used betty crocker pie crust recipe which is almost the same as the crust for veggie pot pie recipe here on allrecipes. Overall, I was pretty happy with how it turned out, thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by asjkfdsl
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2010
Went without the soy sauce, substituted flour for the constarch. Also added a bit of cayenne pepper. Tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by asjkfdsl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Bellingham, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2010
This was delicious. Made as is but omitted the celery as I don't like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by valve001

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Princeton, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2010
4 stars because I changed some things. I have made this a bunch of times, including twice using puff pastry and the Veggie Pot Pie crust on this site. The puff pastry crust was a bit mushy, but good. The veggie pot pie crust was good, I think when I was rolling out the dough I used too much flour because I could taste it too much. I also misplaced my broth so I made my own version. I used dried onion, a small amount of chili flakes, garlic powder, salt, and pepper and it turned out great!! Edit: I made this again with puff pastry dough and prebaked it for a couple minutes before transferring it to the top of my vegetables and cooking the whole thing together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2010
I didn't expect this to be as good as it was! With soy sauce too!? Our family of all ages loved it. The main tip I have is to DRAIN off the vegetable liquid, maybe at least a cup (can reserve it until you are sure), THEN add the soy sauce/cornstarch mixture. You can always add the liquid back if it is too thick-- I will do this next time. This time I generously doubled the cornstarch, but I still transferred the vegetables to the crust with a slotted spoon; this worked but I left some of the liquid in the pot and my pie STILL bubbled over in the oven (hate when this happens...!) A bit time-consuming, but a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2010
I can't eat dairy, so this recipe is great. But since I do eat meat, I like to add fresh, diced chicken to mine and I use beef and/or chicken broth instead of vegetable broth. This takes me a really long time to make (since there's a lot of chopping and homemade crust involved), but I make individual pot pies that I (and everyone else) love! One more thing: I double the corn starch/soy concoction, which makes the pie a lot less runny.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 270) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Turkey and Veggie Alfredo Pot Pie

See how to turn leftovers into a super-simple pot pie.

Easy Vegetable Pot Pie

All you need are a few minutes to prepare this simple veggie pot pie.

How to Make Veggie Shepherd’s Pie

Learn how to make a meat-free shepherd's pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States