Veggie Pot Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2010
Love this recipe! I add beans to punch up some protein. My kids eat it right up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2010
I was pleasantly surprised that the soy flavor was not too overpowering. Maybe I would try a different flavoring next time, but the pie was still very good. didn't use the green beans, and used broccoli instead of cauliflower. I had about 1 and 1/2 cups of extra veggie filling left over. (used a 9" deep dish pie pan which holds the same amount as a 11x7 or 8x8 pan.) Spooned veggies into dough-filled pie pan, trying not to add liquid to the pie, but some liquid still came out of the pie and dripped into my oven while baking. So I recommend putting foil under your pie to catch drips. I also prebaked the shell for about 5 min, as others suggested. I used betty crocker pie crust recipe which is almost the same as the crust for veggie pot pie recipe here on allrecipes. Overall, I was pretty happy with how it turned out, thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by asjkfdsl
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2010
Went without the soy sauce, substituted flour for the constarch. Also added a bit of cayenne pepper. Tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by asjkfdsl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Bellingham, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2010
This was delicious. Made as is but omitted the celery as I don't like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by valve001

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Princeton, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2010
4 stars because I changed some things. I have made this a bunch of times, including twice using puff pastry and the Veggie Pot Pie crust on this site. The puff pastry crust was a bit mushy, but good. The veggie pot pie crust was good, I think when I was rolling out the dough I used too much flour because I could taste it too much. I also misplaced my broth so I made my own version. I used dried onion, a small amount of chili flakes, garlic powder, salt, and pepper and it turned out great!! Edit: I made this again with puff pastry dough and prebaked it for a couple minutes before transferring it to the top of my vegetables and cooking the whole thing together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2010
I didn't expect this to be as good as it was! With soy sauce too!? Our family of all ages loved it. The main tip I have is to DRAIN off the vegetable liquid, maybe at least a cup (can reserve it until you are sure), THEN add the soy sauce/cornstarch mixture. You can always add the liquid back if it is too thick-- I will do this next time. This time I generously doubled the cornstarch, but I still transferred the vegetables to the crust with a slotted spoon; this worked but I left some of the liquid in the pot and my pie STILL bubbled over in the oven (hate when this happens...!) A bit time-consuming, but a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2010
I can't eat dairy, so this recipe is great. But since I do eat meat, I like to add fresh, diced chicken to mine and I use beef and/or chicken broth instead of vegetable broth. This takes me a really long time to make (since there's a lot of chopping and homemade crust involved), but I make individual pot pies that I (and everyone else) love! One more thing: I double the corn starch/soy concoction, which makes the pie a lot less runny.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by leesa
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2010
This recipe is awesome. I love that everything is fresh and from scratch. It's even vegan too, which was a great hit at the Pi party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2010
This was absolutely delicious! I made it for a family gathering yesterday, and was told by several relatives that I better bring it to every future gathering, because I won't be allowed in the door without it. My only comment would be to decrease the pepper to 1/2 tsp, or even 1/4, because it was a bit too peppery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2010
I was surprised how creamy the gravy actually turned out ti was a very good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Webb City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Joplin, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 267) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Turkey and Veggie Alfredo Pot Pie

See how to turn leftovers into a super-simple pot pie.

Easy Vegetable Pot Pie

All you need are a few minutes to prepare this simple veggie pot pie.

How to Make Veggie Shepherd’s Pie

Learn how to make a meat-free shepherd's pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States