Veggie Pot Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2011
I think I might cut down the veg broth to 2 cups instead of using an extra 2 TBS of corn starch to thicken this up. I had way too much liquid at the bottom of my dish. I pre-baked the "pastry for double-crust pie" recipe for 10 mins (punch holes in bottom). I used an 8x8" pan and eyeballed how much to fill it with. I had about a cup of filling left out. Next time I'll use 2 small potatoes or 1 large. I loved the cauliflower and wouldn't leave that out. Bottom line is that we loved the taste and it's worth tweaking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by imsomr

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2011
This recipe is great because of it's versatility. I should have used what I had on hand (peas instead of green beans and broccoli instead of cauliflower). As other reviews said, it is soupy but if you let it cool after baking, a lot of it is absorbed and that extra broth is needed. One thing that a novice like myself wont know is to bring it to a boil after adding the starch mixture to help it thicken. Luckily my hubby directed me to do this. I also used chicken broth just to get the real pot pie flavor. My carnivore husband said it's the best pot pie he's ever tasted. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2011
As is, it was good not great. There just seemed to be something missing maybe a certain herb or seasoning but it definitely seemed to lack something. As far as thickening goes, well I believe next time I will use 3 tablespoons of cornstarch or simply boil it longer until it's very, very thick. How it looked going in the pie is how it looked when it came out. A bit on the watery side. Eventually it set a bit but that is when it was cool. I don't personally want to eat a cold pot pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JJRsMomma

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 11, 2011
great dish. I added sweet potato instead, added edamame instead of carrots, bell pepper instead of celery, only because thats what I had on hand. Great versatile recipe, I think you can add to your liking. took advice of other reviewers, added 3 extra TBLS of cornstarch. i also added an extra TBLS of soy sauce, and omitted the water, just mixed soy sauce and cornstarch and the end result was a perfect consistency. also used chx cubes instead of veg broth, and salted to taste. will make again. used the pie crust for this recipe and turned out great. I did cook the crust for about 10 minutes before filling it and it wasn't soggy at all. very hearty meal without meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2011
Best Pot Pie Recipe I've tried, my family and I love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah-Jane

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2011
Great pot pie! I made a few changes based on comments. I used 2 1/2 cups of broth and I baked the bottom pie crust for a few minutes before adding the filling. It was perfect. Will use again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2011
BEWARE THE CRUST! I couldn't give it less than 4 stars because maybe it was my error--used store bought crust and it was raw! Left in in an additional 10 mins and was beautifully golden, but the bottom was a raw, soggy mess. Stay away from Trader Joe's crust. It also wasn't big enough for a 9" pie plate though that's what it said to use. However, the filling was delicious. I'm going to throw some beans in with the leftover filling and make some biscuits to crumble on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2011
Very good! I followed the recipe and it turned out great! The bottom crust was not soggy at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
This was an excellent recipe! I didn't have cornstarch, so I just used regular flour. I also chopped up the mushrooms in a food processor for the family member who doesn't like large pieces of mushroom in her food. I didn't have cauliflower, but I did at the chopped up stems of some broccoli, which gave the dish a delicious flavour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AzhiaShalott

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
This was sooo good!! I followed the recipe exactly and it just turned out so good and flavorful. The whole pie was gone within 24 hours... amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 271) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Turkey and Veggie Alfredo Pot Pie

See how to turn leftovers into a super-simple pot pie.

Easy Vegetable Pot Pie

All you need are a few minutes to prepare this simple veggie pot pie.

How to Make Veggie Shepherd’s Pie

Learn how to make a meat-free shepherd's pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States