Veggie Pot Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2011
Great pie. I'm not a fan of cauliflower mixed with other vegetables, as I think it is overpowering sometimes so I cut it out of the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2011
This was good. Not amazing but good. Not sure if I liked the soy sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NBSmith

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2011
This veggie pot pie recipe is delicious! I had never made one before and it turned out wonderfully. My husband, who insists on meat in every meal, absolutely loved it and requested I make it again, which almost never happens!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2011
This is a delicious recipe as written and I rated it as such. However!!! If you are not the type of cook who just loves being in the kitchen and knows all the shortcuts or have the right food processor, you might not want to try this recipe. I am not one to want to spend hours in the kitchen (cooking for only 2 people) and because of that, I will not make this again. With all the cutting and dough making, it took me a whole lot longer than 30 minutes prep time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2011
Great dish! I've made it several times and have changed the veggies to suit my tastes. Also GREAT if you skip the crust and have it as veggie stew over a biscuit (I add a little more broth and let it thicken a bit more).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2011
Very tasty! i didn't use the crust recipe provided so I ended up with lots of leftovers. My husband took it to work with rice and loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Happy Veggie

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Bothell, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2011
I think I might cut down the veg broth to 2 cups instead of using an extra 2 TBS of corn starch to thicken this up. I had way too much liquid at the bottom of my dish. I pre-baked the "pastry for double-crust pie" recipe for 10 mins (punch holes in bottom). I used an 8x8" pan and eyeballed how much to fill it with. I had about a cup of filling left out. Next time I'll use 2 small potatoes or 1 large. I loved the cauliflower and wouldn't leave that out. Bottom line is that we loved the taste and it's worth tweaking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by imsomr

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2011
This recipe is great because of it's versatility. I should have used what I had on hand (peas instead of green beans and broccoli instead of cauliflower). As other reviews said, it is soupy but if you let it cool after baking, a lot of it is absorbed and that extra broth is needed. One thing that a novice like myself wont know is to bring it to a boil after adding the starch mixture to help it thicken. Luckily my hubby directed me to do this. I also used chicken broth just to get the real pot pie flavor. My carnivore husband said it's the best pot pie he's ever tasted. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2011
As is, it was good not great. There just seemed to be something missing maybe a certain herb or seasoning but it definitely seemed to lack something. As far as thickening goes, well I believe next time I will use 3 tablespoons of cornstarch or simply boil it longer until it's very, very thick. How it looked going in the pie is how it looked when it came out. A bit on the watery side. Eventually it set a bit but that is when it was cool. I don't personally want to eat a cold pot pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JJRsMomma

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 11, 2011
great dish. I added sweet potato instead, added edamame instead of carrots, bell pepper instead of celery, only because thats what I had on hand. Great versatile recipe, I think you can add to your liking. took advice of other reviewers, added 3 extra TBLS of cornstarch. i also added an extra TBLS of soy sauce, and omitted the water, just mixed soy sauce and cornstarch and the end result was a perfect consistency. also used chx cubes instead of veg broth, and salted to taste. will make again. used the pie crust for this recipe and turned out great. I did cook the crust for about 10 minutes before filling it and it wasn't soggy at all. very hearty meal without meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 267) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Turkey and Veggie Alfredo Pot Pie

See how to turn leftovers into a super-simple pot pie.

Easy Vegetable Pot Pie

All you need are a few minutes to prepare this simple veggie pot pie.

How to Make Veggie Shepherd’s Pie

Learn how to make a meat-free shepherd's pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States