Veggie Pot Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2012
I love this recipe! It always comes out perfectly and it's so simple to make! I usually put in 4 tbs cornstarch instead of 2, though, because it came out a bit runny the first time I made it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2012
This is soooooooo good, I could eat the whole thing at once. I did follow the suggestions of others' in adding more cornstarch, 5 tbsps. It worked perfectly, no soggy crust. I used a regular pie plate, which ended up giving me two portions of the filling. I will make this many, many more times. It is a favourite already.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2012
Delicious with sweet potatoes too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ARIYAH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbia, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Kirkland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2012
I used (2) 9" round pie pans instead of a rectangular one and added an extra tablespoon of cornstarch based on the other reviews, and cut back the water a little bit. I also used 2 packages of refrigerated dough. It worked out great! Tastier the 2nd day than the first!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2012
For a first try at a pot pie, this was really great! The vegetables were very tender. The oven I was using had an iffy temperature control and I burnt the crust a bit, but it was nice and crisp. I probably added too much salt/soy sauce. I also substituted in cream of mushroom soup instead of adding the mushrooms, water, and cornstarch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2012
Great recipe for 1st timers! Easy to follow! Had to work on a tight budget, but was craving it so bad! Definitely used my intuition with the thickness and only added 1/2 tbsp of starch. Combined with this recipe! By only using frozen spinach and a mixture of cheeses from what I had in my fridge. (Mexican blend, Parmesan, and Oaxaca) The soy sauce was a great substitution for salt! I used Kroger crusts for convenience. And the yield made 2 whole 9"pies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2012
I used the no-roll pie crust recipe from this site and I subbed the filling ingredients for a more traditional pie, and what I had on hand - peas & carrots. I also added browned cubed (firm) tofu in place of potatoes. Absolutely fabulous - the "gravy" was delicious - I followed another reviewer's suggestion and used 5 tbsp cornstarch and it was not runny at all - it held its shape perfectly. Thank you for this awesome recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2012
Recipe for filling was AWESOME. I didn't need to add any extra corn starch for the sauce to thicken. I suppose it depends on how thick you like the sauce. Unfortunately, I used some old phyllo dough pastry I had in the freezer for the crust, and it ruined the whole thing. I WILL be making this again, but next time with a better crust!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2012
Simple and tasty. The filling also freezes well. I did not have any issues with too much liquid and a soft bottom crust. Other reviewers gave excellent pie crust recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nadine Gizak

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Duluth, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2012
Good starting point, lends itself well to customize as you wish. Add a bunch of your favorite veggies. I would recommend going heavy handed with fresh herbs and spices, including the salt and pepper. Thicken with cornstarch until desired consistency is achieved. Made into individual pies using puff pastry. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 267) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Turkey and Veggie Alfredo Pot Pie

See how to turn leftovers into a super-simple pot pie.

Easy Vegetable Pot Pie

All you need are a few minutes to prepare this simple veggie pot pie.

How to Make Veggie Shepherd’s Pie

Learn how to make a meat-free shepherd's pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States