Veggie Pot Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2010
4 stars because I changed some things. I have made this a bunch of times, including twice using puff pastry and the Veggie Pot Pie crust on this site. The puff pastry crust was a bit mushy, but good. The veggie pot pie crust was good, I think when I was rolling out the dough I used too much flour because I could taste it too much. I also misplaced my broth so I made my own version. I used dried onion, a small amount of chili flakes, garlic powder, salt, and pepper and it turned out great!! Edit: I made this again with puff pastry dough and prebaked it for a couple minutes before transferring it to the top of my vegetables and cooking the whole thing together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2010
I didn't expect this to be as good as it was! With soy sauce too!? Our family of all ages loved it. The main tip I have is to DRAIN off the vegetable liquid, maybe at least a cup (can reserve it until you are sure), THEN add the soy sauce/cornstarch mixture. You can always add the liquid back if it is too thick-- I will do this next time. This time I generously doubled the cornstarch, but I still transferred the vegetables to the crust with a slotted spoon; this worked but I left some of the liquid in the pot and my pie STILL bubbled over in the oven (hate when this happens...!) A bit time-consuming, but a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2010
I can't eat dairy, so this recipe is great. But since I do eat meat, I like to add fresh, diced chicken to mine and I use beef and/or chicken broth instead of vegetable broth. This takes me a really long time to make (since there's a lot of chopping and homemade crust involved), but I make individual pot pies that I (and everyone else) love! One more thing: I double the corn starch/soy concoction, which makes the pie a lot less runny.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by leesa
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2010
This recipe is awesome. I love that everything is fresh and from scratch. It's even vegan too, which was a great hit at the Pi party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2010
This was absolutely delicious! I made it for a family gathering yesterday, and was told by several relatives that I better bring it to every future gathering, because I won't be allowed in the door without it. My only comment would be to decrease the pepper to 1/2 tsp, or even 1/4, because it was a bit too peppery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2010
I was surprised how creamy the gravy actually turned out ti was a very good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Webb City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Joplin, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2010
I don't think I've had pot pie this good since... well ever! I'm a vegetarian and all memories of pot pie were tarnished with memories of picking out chicken bits and meaty aftertastes. I made this for myself and my husband and he couldn't stop going back for more! He's not a vegetarian but he was definitely satisfied with the flavor. I did make the following changes though: I used a jiffy pie-crust recipe (which I brushed with some beaten egg when the filling was loaded), 1/2 of a chopped onion, 1/4 cup sliced button mushrooms, 2 russet potatoes, 1 and 1/2 carrots (sliced), 1 large parsnip (sliced), 1 cup broccoli florets, 1/2 cup vegetable broth, 3 tbs enriched white flour, 1 tbs soy sauce, and 2 tbs fresh, minced rosemary. Mostly these changes were due to what I had on hand and the comments about there being too much filling, but I loved the combination so much I think I'll stick with the veggie choices. Though prep-time was a bit time-consuming, the results are well worth the work :-D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ereshkigal

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elkhart, Indiana, USA
Living In: Brookline, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2010
Great recipe for vegetarians or non-vegetarians; very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2010
This was delicious!! The only problem I had was that it was a little dry. So I quickly made up more gravy and it was perfect!!! Next time, I will definitely double the gravy part.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2010
Awesome recipe. The instructions could have been slightly better written, but I'm just a bit of a stickler for that. I altered things a bit, using significantly more corn starch than in the recipe, and I put a half teaspoon of dried rosemary, oregano, and parsley. Next time I'm either making more dough (the recipe for that is awesome by the way) so that it covers a bit more fully, or more likely I'll make individual pies in either cupcake tins or ramekins. I can't imagine a better meal to bring to work on a cold rainy day. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lilmouse85

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 273) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Turkey and Veggie Alfredo Pot Pie

See how to turn leftovers into a super-simple pot pie.

Easy Vegetable Pot Pie

All you need are a few minutes to prepare this simple veggie pot pie.

How to Make Veggie Shepherd’s Pie

Learn how to make a meat-free shepherd's pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States