Veggie Pot Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Dale Hammerschmidt
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2014
This works well as written, and can serve as a starting point for variations, depending on available vegetables, the wish (or not) to add a mock-meat of some kind, the wish to make a more specific flavor by adding (e.g.) garam masala, paprika, chili powder, etc. On my first use, I filled the pie shell pretty full, and it took 40-45 minutes to reach pie-brown. I was very fond of pot pie in the days before I adopted a vegetarian diet; I’ve not often found a good vegetable pot-pie in a restaurant or in a grocery store. This one satisfies my craving. My wife commented that it brought back childhood memories (g); for me it was perhaps more starving-student-day memories. My terrier begged for seconds, so the lack of meat was obviously not an issue! I think it can be served to meat-eaters without apology.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dale Hammerschmidt

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by silentturnip
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2014
Awesome flavour in the filling and I added 1tbsp extra of cornstarch and baked mine in a cast iron skillet and used gluten-free crust. Great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by silentturnip

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Geraldton, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2014
I too make extra veggies and freeze them. With prepared veggies quick week night meal and so delicious. Great fall/winter recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2014
This recipe calls for way too many ingredients...it was impossible to fit it all in one pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2014
Very happy with this recipe, easy to make, kids ate it, and the husband didn't complain about missing the meat. Ended up with enough for two pot pies, so had dinner and saved the rest for a future dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2014
We made it with a cornbread crust and it was "over the top"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Broomfield, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2014
This was very good. I used what veggies I had on hand (red onion, garlic, carrots, broccoli, cauliflower, yellow zucchini, and potatoes). I used 2 cups veggie broth and 3 Tbls. cornstarch and the sauce thickened up perfectly. If you plan to make a double pie crust don't bake the bottom first because you won't be able to seal and flute the top crust to the bottom.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2014
I followed the recipe closly, but didn't like the result. There was very little flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2014
Delicious! It was a bit messy to serve, but tasted great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2014
Would be much better with chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 273) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Turkey and Veggie Alfredo Pot Pie

See how to turn leftovers into a super-simple pot pie.

Easy Vegetable Pot Pie

All you need are a few minutes to prepare this simple veggie pot pie.

How to Make Veggie Shepherd’s Pie

Learn how to make a meat-free shepherd's pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States