Veggie Pesto Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2008
I absolutely LOVE this recipe. I use Basil pesto instead of sundried tomato, and use more of it, add celery and use chicken broth instead of veggie. And right before eating, I squeezed in some fresh lemon juice. Oh--and i used sweet potatoes instead of regular. I love how this is FILLED with veggies and has tons of flavor from the pesto. I use fresh pesto from a local international foods deli.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2011
Love this soup. I followed the advice of some of the reviewers and used chicken broth and pesto sauce. Yummo. The recipe is very versatile as ingredients can be substitued or added. I have added turkey kielbasa, chopped kale, sweet potatoes, butternut squash, and butter beans. It is the broth with the pesto sauce that makes the soup - just clean out the vegetable bin and enjoy a variation!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2013
I made this soup using regular pesto, I added canned diced tomatoes, some wide noodles, and used sweet potatoes in place of regular potatoes. I did double up on the pesto. My daughter who is vegan loved it more then panaria bread veg pesto soup! I think the sweet potatoes really made tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2004
Very tasty. Great as a starter to a meal or just a snack for lunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2007
Absolutely delicious! I Cooked it exactly as described, and it tasted really good! Plus is really filling for the minimal amount of calories it contains, which is great because me and my dad are watching our weight. I think i would make a couple of changes though. I would use 1 less bouillon cube, and i would also cook it for 30 minutes instead of 35. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melanie Booth

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Bath, Somerset, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2007
Used all fat free/low sodium chicken broth with this and regular homemade pesto as I don't care for sundried tomatoes. This made a great lunch for me today and I thank you C. Berry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2010
Surprisingly good! We had a lot of these ingredients that we about finished, and this was an excellent way to use them up. Like others, we just used regular basil pesto. The only reason I didn't give it another star was the lack of "wow" factor. We did also make cheese drop biscuits with it, and I would highly recommend putting the biscuits in the soup! I'd never done it before, but our lunch guest recommended it. THAT was amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2005
This was just ok. Needed a fair amount of salt and pesto (I used a basil one) to give it flavour. I also added a tin of tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hot Chilli

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2008
This was alright at best. I really couldn't taste any of the tomato pesto, even after I doubled the suggested amount, what with the 6 1/2 cups water in which it was diluted. That seemed like a LOT for just four servings... maybe cut down on the water a couple cups. Another thing... there was way too much onion in it - good for flavor but they start to burn your tastebuds after eating so many. Maybe a half an onion for each batch would do better. I would give 3 1/2 since it really wasn't that bad, but that's not an option.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2009
healthy and hearty, Makes more than 4 servings. 6 or 8. kind if bland, needed lots of salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cabbage Fat-Burning Soup

This healthy soup has a tomato broth and seven kinds of fresh, healthy veggies.

Black Bean and Salsa Soup

This satisfying soup comes together in just minutes.

Quick and Easy Vegetable Soup

See how to make a healthy, super-simple vegetable soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States