Veggie Lasagna Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2009
Oh my, this was good. It kind of turned out like a cross between a pot pie or casserole and traditional lasagna. I've never tried a lasagna recipe that didn't include a tomato-based sauce, but this was awesome. I didn't have corn on hand and wasn't really wanting corn in it, so I substituted some sliced zucchini that I had. I also used plain nonfat yogurt instead of sour cream. I couldn't find the soup mix at the grocery store, so minced a garlic and added a sprinkling of herbs. Wow, it turned out wonderful. I think the only thing I'd do differently is maybe stirfry or preboil the carrots. Despite the cooking time, they came out a bit crunchy. One tip is to definitely completely thaw the broccoli and then drain it very well. I pressed it several times. If you don't, you'll probably end up with veggie lasagna soup like someone else did. This was terrific. A definite keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Liora

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2009
This lasagna was great, i made it and all my veggie eating friends loved it, i added seasoned can tomatoes on top with black olives and it was great......will definately cook again and recommend highly
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2009
I've got to say it wasn't one of my favourites. If I'm going to spend time layering, I'd use a different recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by abby

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Windsor, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2008
This recipe is VERY rich and heavy. The sauce is similar in taste, texture and thickness to a rich alfredo sauce, which is tasty, but it was too much for my husband and I. I wouldn't say it's all that similar to actual lasagna, more like a very cheesy vegetable casserole. I personally wouldn't use it again as a main dish because it was so heavy, but I think it would make a nice side dish. I replaced the corn with chopped spinach, which tasted great. If I try it as a main dish again next time I will make half of the sauce and replace the other half with a light marinara base, so that it will be more of a cheesy marinara sauce and hopefully not so heavy. And I will definitely add more vegetables like zucchini and even sliced tomatoes. I think the combination of varying the sauce and adding more light veggies would take away some of the heaviness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2008
better than I thought it would be! I chopped the carrots and broc. in the blender while still frozen because my DH hates big pieces of broc. Subbed one can of broc and cheese soup for one of the mushroom soups as another reviewer suggested. yummy! I also used the no boil noodles like another reviewer suggested and that cut down on the prep time. (Just make sure you cover those noodles with sauce or they come out a little crunchy on the corners).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2008
my hubby and i loved it! i used fresh veggies from our CSA, which made it extra good. make sure you use regular, boil lasagna noodles though- i used no boil and had to bake it for another 30 mins!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ceeleigh

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2008
My husband was leary, but about every 10 minutes after we ate it he kept saying "that was REALLY good!" I sauteed yellow and green zucchini and I slightly cooked some fresh carrots and fresh broccoli and used those as my veggies and it was great! This was also a great "make ahead" dish. I made it Friday without cooking it and kept it in the fridge until we cooked it Sunday night and it was just fine. So I made one for my friend who just had twins knowing she could cook it whenever she got around to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2008
Delicious! I made a few modifications--I used cream of chicken instead of cream of mushroom and used a bag of mixed veggies that included broccoli, carrots and water chestnuts, which tasted marvelous. I did keep the frozen corn in as well. Based on other reviews, I steamed my veggies in the microwave and they were the perfect consistency after baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2008
Loved this lasagna!! The ONLY thing I might suggest is that...if you want your vegetables tender you may want to pre-cook them before putting them in the lasagna. Yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Moline, Illinois, USA
Living In: Fargo, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2008
This lasagna was Awesome!! My DH and I ate this for three meals because we liked it so much and it made a lot! It was just as good if not better as leftovers. I actually used low fat soups (cream of mushroom & cream of chicken) and used mozarella cheese instead of the cheddar. I used all fresh vegetables in this as well (grated carrots, spinach, broccoli, mushrooms, onions and garlic) and sauteed them all together on the stovetop before adding to the lasagna. My DH suggested that next time we try adding chicken as well & I can't wait to try it that way!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carrieh82

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Cheesy Vegetable Lasagna

See how to make a cheesy, saucy vegetarian lasagna that’s loaded with veggies.

Creamy Chicken Lasagna

Chicken and cream cheese star in this deliciously unique lasagna.

Butternut Squash Lasagna

Pair this rich, easy lasagna with a crunchy kale salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States