Veggie Lasagna Florentine Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2004
Oh yes! This one tasted great and we just loved all the veggies! Do be aware, though, that it will take MUCH longer than 20 minutes for the prep time. I made the sauce one evening and then refrigerated it. The next evening, I assembled the lasagna and refrigerated that. The third day I finally baked the lasagna. I simply didn't have all of that time in one block to do the whole thing. The homemade sauce was great and fully worth that amount of chopping and cooking time. I made these changes: 1) just spray a little olive oil on the pan instead of using a whole 2 Tbsp. 2) used 8 ounces of fresh mushrooms instead of the canned. 3) omitted the brown sugar. 4) added about 1/2 tsp of red pepper flakes to the sauce. 5) used 16 oz of ricotta instead of cottage cheese. 6) DIDN'T BOIL THE LASAGNA NOODLES! This was definitely a hit! By the way, if you've never made lasagna using the no-boil method, you really should give it a try. Such a time saver and then you don't end up with wiggly, slippery, tearing wet noodles to handle. Just make sure they are layered next to one of the wet ingredients (mine were right on top of the sauce layer) and they are perfect when the baking is done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
203 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2003
I really found all the other reviews of this fantastic recipe really helpful in adapting it to the way we like to eat. Some advice ... 1) Triple the amount of garlic. Come on, let's live a little. My guests loved that this was so flavorful. 2) Use fresh spinach and fresh mushrooms. I steamed the spinach with a little salt and it worked out fabulous 3) I used a can and a half of crushed tomatoes. Several of the other reviews advised using only one which is up to you. 4) I used lowfat ricotta instead of cottage cheese - much better, Finally, I sprinkled a little olive oil on the top of the lasagne, and I got this wonderful crust. Thanks to everyone who shared their thoughts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
70 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2002
I have been looking for a good vegetable lazagna recipe for a long time, and this one was great. The homemade red sauce is a little time consuming but definately worth it. I added an additional 2T of garlic, 2T of itilian seasoning, and 1T of onion powder to give it more flavor. I also used low fat cottage cheese and whole wheat noodles to make it even healthier. In order to prevent it from being runny I only partially cooked the noodles so they absorbed the additional fluid while cooking. My husband and his friends loved it, they didn't mind that it was meatless.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2002
This is a great recepie if you are not afriad to tailor it to your tastes- I did away with the "Sweet" in the sauce and replaced the sugar with red pepper flakes, and I used yellow squash as well as zucchini in the sauce. I agree with the other reviewer who has used the sauce recepie again- I had too much sauce left over the last time I made this recipe and so I saved it and used it like a primavera sauce later in the week with all those extra lasagna noodles (only make half a box!!)! All in all a great healthy alternative to typical lasagna!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2000
This proved to be a very tasty recipe. However, it only makes 12 servings at best, not anywhere near 24 servings as the recipe states. I substituted 15 oz of ricotta cheese instead of cottage cheese. I also used fresh spinach leaves instead of frozen, and just placed them on top of the ricotta cheese mixture. I served this at a pot-luck last night and it got very good review. I definitely recommend it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2008
My first attempt at a meatless lasagna and it was delicious. I made a few small changes - like others I did not cook the noodles I used pre-cooked no boiling required (the only way to go). I halved the recipe as cooking for two. I used Fresh mushrooms, added a carrot and chopped all vege's very finely using the chopping attachment of my blender. The sauce came out looking like meat sauce as the veges were cut up fine, and cooked quicker. DH raved about it and we are looking forward to the leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathietay

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winton, Southland, New Zealand

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2003
Made this recipe for a vegetarian friend of mine right after she had a baby. Her family loved it and asked for the recipe. I made it in two 8x8 pans and then froze them. Once frozen, I put them in foodsaver bags so they could store them and eat them when they were ready. She said the one she ate the night she came home was delicious, and two weeks later, the second was just as good. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeannette H.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Discovery Bay, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2006
Excellent! I was looking for a healthier alternative to my 1000+ calorie original lasagna recipe, and this one was no disappointment. I was afraid that the spinach or zuchini might over power the dish, but the flavors blended together nicely. The only change I made is that I didn't have enough tomatoes (or enough room in my pan) for the 2- 28 oz cans, so I ended up using 1- 28 oz can and 1- 14 oz. It wasn't dry at all. That and I saved some mozzarella to top it off and covered it with foil while baking. My kids were a little hesitant because they could see the spinach (I told them it was parsley ;), but they ended up finishing it without complaints. It has 8 WW points, if you're counting. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2000
Very tasty recipe. I used at least double the garlic and substituted green pepper for the zucchini as that is what I had on hand. You may want to drain some of the juice off one of the cans of tomatoes. I did and it still boiled over my pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pamjlee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Living In: London, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2010
Love the idea of making your own sauce, you can make it as healthy as you want. Used all fresh ingredients rather than canned/frozen and whole wheat pasta noodles. Omitted any salt or sugar. Also used 2 bulbs of garlic rather than 2 tsp. Delicious. Added some ground turkey to my sauce, which I know defeats the veggie purpose.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LZakaria

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roswell, Georgia, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 130) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spinach Lasagna III

This hearty meatless lasagna is layered with cheese, fresh spinach, and sauce.

Slow Cooker Lasagna

See how to make a meaty lasagna in the slow cooker.

Cheesy Vegetable Lasagna

See how to make a cheesy, saucy vegetarian lasagna that’s loaded with veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States