Veggie Lasagna Florentine Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2000
This proved to be a very tasty recipe. However, it only makes 12 servings at best, not anywhere near 24 servings as the recipe states. I substituted 15 oz of ricotta cheese instead of cottage cheese. I also used fresh spinach leaves instead of frozen, and just placed them on top of the ricotta cheese mixture. I served this at a pot-luck last night and it got very good review. I definitely recommend it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2000
Very tasty recipe. I used at least double the garlic and substituted green pepper for the zucchini as that is what I had on hand. You may want to drain some of the juice off one of the cans of tomatoes. I did and it still boiled over my pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pamjlee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Living In: London, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2001
I really like what this recipe turns out... but, you don't need all those noodles. Tasty recipe and pretty easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2002
I made this for my dad on fathers' day. Okay, to be fair, I USED it to make somehing else. He wanted an eggplant lasanga, but I think he's the only one who ever heard of it. Finally, I chose his recipe and substituted the noodles with sliced eggplant. I also used fresh mushrooms. It wasn't to flavorful and I found that the recipe makes too much to fit in a 13x9 inch pan. All and all it was an okay recipe, but anyone who gets frazzled in the kitchen might want to consider making the filling ahead of time, otherwise there's just too much to do at once. I have used this sauce recipe on several other dishes including spaghetti. It really beats the salt- packed sauce in a jar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2002
This is a great recepie if you are not afriad to tailor it to your tastes- I did away with the "Sweet" in the sauce and replaced the sugar with red pepper flakes, and I used yellow squash as well as zucchini in the sauce. I agree with the other reviewer who has used the sauce recepie again- I had too much sauce left over the last time I made this recipe and so I saved it and used it like a primavera sauce later in the week with all those extra lasagna noodles (only make half a box!!)! All in all a great healthy alternative to typical lasagna!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2002
As a true meat-lover, I have to say this was wonderful. I made this for a vegetarian friend of mine and we both loved it! This recipe makes a great sauce, and I also used fresh spinach instead of the frozen, and used ricotta cheese instead of cottage cheese. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2002
I have been looking for a good vegetable lazagna recipe for a long time, and this one was great. The homemade red sauce is a little time consuming but definately worth it. I added an additional 2T of garlic, 2T of itilian seasoning, and 1T of onion powder to give it more flavor. I also used low fat cottage cheese and whole wheat noodles to make it even healthier. In order to prevent it from being runny I only partially cooked the noodles so they absorbed the additional fluid while cooking. My husband and his friends loved it, they didn't mind that it was meatless.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2002
Even my spinach-hating sister loved it. She had leftovers for lunch for 2 days!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2002
Best veggie lasagna recipe I could find. I used riccota instead of cottage cheese since I like it better. It was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2003
Made this recipe for a vegetarian friend of mine right after she had a baby. Her family loved it and asked for the recipe. I made it in two 8x8 pans and then froze them. Once frozen, I put them in foodsaver bags so they could store them and eat them when they were ready. She said the one she ate the night she came home was delicious, and two weeks later, the second was just as good. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeannette H.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Discovery Bay, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 133) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Spinach Lasagna III

This hearty meatless lasagna is layered with cheese, fresh spinach, and sauce.

Slow Cooker Lasagna

See how to make a meaty lasagna in the slow cooker.

Cheesy Vegetable Lasagna

See how to make a cheesy, saucy vegetarian lasagna that’s loaded with veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States