Veggie Lasagna Florentine Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2007
I took the advice of some other reviewers and made a few changes: 1. No-boil noodles (they cooked perfectly in the liquid of the sauce, just be sure they're on top of sauce layers). 2. More veggies (I added green pepper and fresh portobello mushrooms coarsely chopped- it added bulk and texture to please the meat-eaters). 3. Half ricotta/half cottage cheese. 4. Fresh spinach instead of frozen. 5. Allow for about twice the recommended prep time, the sauce is delicious but requires a lot of chopping and simmering and a little less than the recommended cooking time. I found it was done to the point of the top cheese layer beginning to burn after 45 minutes. Definitely keep an eye on it. I served it to a house full of fairly picky omnivores and got lots of compliments, and I'm looking forward to the leftovers tomorrow myself. Very tasty and well worth the lengthy prep time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2007
This recipe is SO good! I threw in some extra veggies, and it was great! Don't boil the noodles! They cook themselves perfectly in the oven! Also, be cautious because the cheese burns!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Miss Ashley K.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Modesto, California, USA
Living In: Marina, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2007
I cut the recipe in half and omitted the mushrooms, other than that followed the recipe exactly. I only gave it three stars because it was good, but not anything exceptional in my opinion. My husband thought something was missing...and it needed more cheese. Next time I'd add more veggies and definitely more cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2007
this was very good, it took ALOT longer then the directions indicated, having a helping hand in the kitchen would be good. i useded the no bake noodles worked just fine i made sure i spread sauce to the corner of each piece and all was well. i added more cheese and it was a hit at my party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Megan

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2007
Having made this recipe several times, I recommend only three modifications to take the lasagna from great to super fantastic. First, do not boil the lasagna. There is more than enough liquid to cook the pasta as the dish bakes. If you boil the lasagna first, it ends up kind of mealy and mushy. Second, add chunky pieces of pan seared portebello mushrooms. They are really chewy and meaty, and help to make this veggis lasagna satisfying to meat eaters. Third, if you can find smoked mozzeralla, use some. Every time I've added it, I've gotten rave reviews specifically on the smoky taste. I use half smoked mozzerella, and half whole milk mozzerella.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ABoston

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tifton, Georgia, USA
Living In: Manhattan Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2007
I made this for a friends of ours that have 3 girls and everyone cleaned their plate. It does make a lot of sauce. I didn't use all the sauce and would probably use even less because it came out a bit too saucy for my taste. Was excellent as left overs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2007
I normally don't like dishes without meat, but this was wonderful! I halved the tomatoes and added squash and it turned out great. Also, used uncooked noodles and they came out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbia, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2007
This was so tasty!! I added ground chicken and some other things. It was so tasty that I made it twice in one week and invited the in-laws over the second time. Everyone pigged out so they could hardly leave the table. Mmmmmm, Thank you!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lece

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Stockholm, Stockholms, Sweden

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2007
This recipe was a great hit. Very tasty and very aromatic while cooking. I left out the brown sugar, and it was not missed. This is a “must try” recipe for anyone who loves great lasagna.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MaineCook

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2007
Awsome, we have this in our regular rotation. You can substitute any veggies. MMMMM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bethannie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 132) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Lasagna

Pair this rich, easy lasagna with a crunchy kale salad.

Spinach Lasagna III

This hearty meatless lasagna is layered with cheese, fresh spinach, and sauce.

Slow Cooker Lasagna

See how to make a meaty lasagna in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States