Veggie Lasagna Florentine Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2009
Mmmm ... yummy! I followed the tips of several other reviewers and used fresh mushrooms and spinach, 3 cloves of garlic, only one 28 ounce can of crushed tomatoes, and ricotta cheese. I also added 2 carrots, and some leftover broccoli stems. I omitted the brown sugar (the carrots add enough sweetness) and the salt (all that cheese has enough salt, and my crushed tomatoes contained salt too). To simplify the preparation, rather than sautéing the vegetables in olive oil, I chopped the onion, garlic, carrots and broccoli stems finely in the food processer and stirred them into the tomato sauce. The zucchini I sliced very thinly with a cheese slicer and used the slices to layer like the lasagna noodles. Same with the fresh mushrooms. I used uncooked whole wheat lasagna noodles, layering it so the wettest layers (sauce, zucchini) were touching the noodles. I just spread the washed fresh spinach over the ricotta mixture as another layer, rather than chopping it and mixing it in. It needed a little over an hour to bake, because of the raw ingredients, but also because I prepared it at high altitude. The changes I made reduced the calories to 240, fat to 8.1g, sodium to 441.2 mg, and carbs to 25.9g. This is based on 12 servings, for comparison, although I agree with other reviewers that serving this as a main dish to 12 people would make for rather small servings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2009
This was my first time ever making a lasagna. This recipe was easy for a first timer and it turned out great. I would absolutely recommend it to everyone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2009
Substituted some veggies for hamburger Kept spinach Used sour cream instead of cottage or ricotta cheese Didn't pre-cook noodles
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2009
YUM! Takes much longer than 20 minutes to prep though. Used ricotta cheese instead of the cottage cheese, also added extra brown sugar into the sauce...it was a HIT
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2009
I did like this recipe a lot, but are my suggestions: Use fresh mushrooms, double the garlic and cover for the first 30 minutes of cooking. My top layer was soo dried out that you could not even cut it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2009
This was deilcious! We all thoroughly enjoyed it, even my six-year old and four year-old. The only changes I made were using no-bake lasagna noodles and adding diced carrots (3 of them), since I had no zucchini. I think I like the combination of colors, and next time I may even add in some yellow peppers also... Thanks for the recipe! Big hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Muffinmom

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Syracuse, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2009
It is a very hearty lasagna, but needs a little more flavor. I added two tablespoons of red pepper flakes to the sauce and wish I had added more. Perhaps I needed to season the vegetables more...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2008
Fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2008
I rated this a 3 star instead of a 4 because I think jarred sauce would've been just as good or better. Not that hard to make, but there's a similar recipe on this site "Cheryl's Spinach Cheesy Pasta Casserole" that is very close in ingredients, only you just toss a jar of sauce in! Admittedly, both recipes need extra seasoning (to suit anyone's tastes), but I will stick with the Pasta Casserole for ease. Thanks for the decent base recipe though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2008
THIS ROCKS!! I made two pans, one for a friend with a new baby, and one to keep at home! I made two adjustments for quicker prep time: I used a small bag of frozen chopped onions, and I grated the zucchini. DELISH!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 130) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spinach Lasagna III

This hearty meatless lasagna is layered with cheese, fresh spinach, and sauce.

Slow Cooker Lasagna

See how to make a meaty lasagna in the slow cooker.

Cheesy Vegetable Lasagna

See how to make a cheesy, saucy vegetarian lasagna that’s loaded with veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States