Veggie Lasagna Florentine Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
Absolutely delicious! The only thing I changed was using fresh spinach instead of frozen, I coarsely chopped 1/2 of a bag and stirred into the cottage cheese mix. My fiance LOVED it! I was torn on going with the white sauce or tomato and I'm glad I went with this one. Not to mention I didn't even miss not having meat in it. I would definitely make it again! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2014
This recipe was fantastic! It was the first time that I had ever tried to make a lasagna, and it was super helpful. Like other people mentioned, I made several changes that I found worked really well. In the sauce, I substituted a red pepper for mushrooms, and added more herbs. Extra oregano, bay leaves, red chili flakes, ground pepper, and even some steak seasoning. Basically, do what you think will taste good, and it should be fine. I have lots left over for pasta sauce! In the filling, I used ricotta cheese and didn't blend the spinach, I just chopped and sautéed it with garlic. I used the type of noodles that you don't have to pre-boil, and I didn't use the whole pound of cheese. It tasted amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah McCabe
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
My family loved this recipe. No changes made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Theresa
Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA
Living In: Edmonds, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2013
I make this almost every week. Every one LOVES it! It is the only way I can get my son to eat zucchini with no complaints.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2013
needs more sauce than called for
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2013
WAY too much garlic for this recipe! It's all I could taste! Less garlic (1 tbls, maybe) and maybe some tender carrots or other veggies added in and this would be great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2013
Made w/ changes. I would keep those changes and incorporate a few more when making this again. Used 8 oz. box oven ready lasagna rather than 16 oz. reg. ones. There were 12 lasagna pieces in a box, and 3 pieces for each layer fit perfectly in a 9" x 13" dish, leaving 3 unused. Used fresh mushrooms vs. canned when making the sauce, and added red pepper flakes. The 4 lbs. canned tomato products included in the sauce overshadow the other vegetables in this dish. Fortunately, the sauce was quite tasty. Next time, I’ll cut the tomatoes back to about 35 oz. to bring more balance so other veggies have a chance to shine through. For the cheese/spinach mixture, subbed ricotta for cottage cheese and 10 oz. tub fresh baby spinach for the frozen spinach. Steamed the spinach for a couple minutes to make it more pliable. Next time, I’ll at least double the spinach. With a Misto, lightly sprayed olive oil on last layer of cheese mixture before placing in oven. This lasagna is flavorful and healthy, and a great starting point to customize a version best suited to the preferences of each cook. With changes, this recipe is 5*. See notes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ConkyJoe
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2013
Superb! Best lasagna ever! I mostly followed the recipe, and am happy that it was a bit versatile to use what I had available. I used extra fresh garlic, diced canned tomatoes and accidentally forgot the tomato paste, shredded carrot in place of brown sugar, lots of fresh finely chopped mushrooms, and an extra large shredded yellow squash in place of zucchini, and did not add salt. I skipped step with the mixer to save time, so sauce was chunky. I simplified into 2 layers -- sauce, noodles, sauce, cottage cheese mixture, noodles, cheese, basil. I really think all the seasonings is what pulled it together. Everything fit perfectly in my 11 x 14 inch pan. This is good! Thank you for recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2013
There is a lot of flavor packed in this recipe. I used 1/2 pound of fresh, chopped mushrooms instead of the canned, and Italian seasoning blend instead of the oregano. Those were my only subs, and I will make this again. Didn't miss the meat at all, with all the cheese!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bibi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bowling Green, Kentucky, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2013
We LOVE this recipe. I use ricotta cheese instead of cottage cheese, and add a splash of balsamic vinegar to the sauce instead of the brown sugar. You can play with the flavors all you want, and it's still a good dish. I disagree with the no-boil comments, though. Boil the noodles first for the right texture. If you don't, the crunchy parts that stick out that everybody loves to fight over get burnt and chewy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jefferson, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Boone, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 130) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spinach Lasagna III

This hearty meatless lasagna is layered with cheese, fresh spinach, and sauce.

Slow Cooker Lasagna

See how to make a meaty lasagna in the slow cooker.

Cheesy Vegetable Lasagna

See how to make a cheesy, saucy vegetarian lasagna that’s loaded with veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States