Veggie Lasagna Florentine Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2000
This proved to be a very tasty recipe. However, it only makes 12 servings at best, not anywhere near 24 servings as the recipe states. I substituted 15 oz of ricotta cheese instead of cottage cheese. I also used fresh spinach leaves instead of frozen, and just placed them on top of the ricotta cheese mixture. I served this at a pot-luck last night and it got very good review. I definitely recommend it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2003
I have been looking for a veg lasanga for a long time. This not only was delicous, but all my meat loving family and friends loved it as well. I did customize this a little, I added a lot more garlic, (fresh) and a bit more crushed tomatoes. And I used ricotta instead of cottage. But I let the sauce simmer for a good hour. I could not get over how delish the sauce was! I have since made it just to pour on pasta for a quick marinara type dinner. Really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2003
I really found all the other reviews of this fantastic recipe really helpful in adapting it to the way we like to eat. Some advice ... 1) Triple the amount of garlic. Come on, let's live a little. My guests loved that this was so flavorful. 2) Use fresh spinach and fresh mushrooms. I steamed the spinach with a little salt and it worked out fabulous 3) I used a can and a half of crushed tomatoes. Several of the other reviews advised using only one which is up to you. 4) I used lowfat ricotta instead of cottage cheese - much better, Finally, I sprinkled a little olive oil on the top of the lasagne, and I got this wonderful crust. Thanks to everyone who shared their thoughts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
71 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2002
I have been looking for a good vegetable lazagna recipe for a long time, and this one was great. The homemade red sauce is a little time consuming but definately worth it. I added an additional 2T of garlic, 2T of itilian seasoning, and 1T of onion powder to give it more flavor. I also used low fat cottage cheese and whole wheat noodles to make it even healthier. In order to prevent it from being runny I only partially cooked the noodles so they absorbed the additional fluid while cooking. My husband and his friends loved it, they didn't mind that it was meatless.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2002
This is a great recepie if you are not afriad to tailor it to your tastes- I did away with the "Sweet" in the sauce and replaced the sugar with red pepper flakes, and I used yellow squash as well as zucchini in the sauce. I agree with the other reviewer who has used the sauce recepie again- I had too much sauce left over the last time I made this recipe and so I saved it and used it like a primavera sauce later in the week with all those extra lasagna noodles (only make half a box!!)! All in all a great healthy alternative to typical lasagna!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2003
This lasagna recipe is definitely a keeper! I made it half veggie/half meat by adding spicy Italian sausage to half of the sauce mixture which gave it a nice kick. As other reviewers have mentioned, I did have a lot of extra sauce and noodles left over, so I just used that to make individual lasagna rolls and stored in the freezer. I also used part-skim ricotta cheese, as I like the flavor better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2002
As a true meat-lover, I have to say this was wonderful. I made this for a vegetarian friend of mine and we both loved it! This recipe makes a great sauce, and I also used fresh spinach instead of the frozen, and used ricotta cheese instead of cottage cheese. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2002
Best veggie lasagna recipe I could find. I used riccota instead of cottage cheese since I like it better. It was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2000
Very tasty recipe. I used at least double the garlic and substituted green pepper for the zucchini as that is what I had on hand. You may want to drain some of the juice off one of the cans of tomatoes. I did and it still boiled over my pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pamjlee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Living In: London, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2002
Even my spinach-hating sister loved it. She had leftovers for lunch for 2 days!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 130) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spinach Lasagna III

This hearty meatless lasagna is layered with cheese, fresh spinach, and sauce.

Slow Cooker Lasagna

See how to make a meaty lasagna in the slow cooker.

Cheesy Vegetable Lasagna

See how to make a cheesy, saucy vegetarian lasagna that’s loaded with veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States