Veggie Lasagna Florentine Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2009
I've made this for multiple people, and they always love it! Like other reviewers said, it takes a good bit of time, but I feel it's worth it, and expected. All in all, it's a great recipe to play around with, and a delicious meal that lasts all week!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathryn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2009
Very good. I added a chopped yellow squash in with the sauce and a layer of sliced zuccini on top of the sauce. It turned out great. My vegetarian friends and even my meat LOVING husband said it was someof the best they have had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2009
Mmmm ... yummy! I followed the tips of several other reviewers and used fresh mushrooms and spinach, 3 cloves of garlic, only one 28 ounce can of crushed tomatoes, and ricotta cheese. I also added 2 carrots, and some leftover broccoli stems. I omitted the brown sugar (the carrots add enough sweetness) and the salt (all that cheese has enough salt, and my crushed tomatoes contained salt too). To simplify the preparation, rather than sautéing the vegetables in olive oil, I chopped the onion, garlic, carrots and broccoli stems finely in the food processer and stirred them into the tomato sauce. The zucchini I sliced very thinly with a cheese slicer and used the slices to layer like the lasagna noodles. Same with the fresh mushrooms. I used uncooked whole wheat lasagna noodles, layering it so the wettest layers (sauce, zucchini) were touching the noodles. I just spread the washed fresh spinach over the ricotta mixture as another layer, rather than chopping it and mixing it in. It needed a little over an hour to bake, because of the raw ingredients, but also because I prepared it at high altitude. The changes I made reduced the calories to 240, fat to 8.1g, sodium to 441.2 mg, and carbs to 25.9g. This is based on 12 servings, for comparison, although I agree with other reviewers that serving this as a main dish to 12 people would make for rather small servings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2009
This was my first time ever making a lasagna. This recipe was easy for a first timer and it turned out great. I would absolutely recommend it to everyone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2009
Substituted some veggies for hamburger Kept spinach Used sour cream instead of cottage or ricotta cheese Didn't pre-cook noodles
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2009
YUM! Takes much longer than 20 minutes to prep though. Used ricotta cheese instead of the cottage cheese, also added extra brown sugar into the sauce...it was a HIT
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2009
I did like this recipe a lot, but are my suggestions: Use fresh mushrooms, double the garlic and cover for the first 30 minutes of cooking. My top layer was soo dried out that you could not even cut it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2009
This was deilcious! We all thoroughly enjoyed it, even my six-year old and four year-old. The only changes I made were using no-bake lasagna noodles and adding diced carrots (3 of them), since I had no zucchini. I think I like the combination of colors, and next time I may even add in some yellow peppers also... Thanks for the recipe! Big hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Muffinmom

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Syracuse, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2009
It is a very hearty lasagna, but needs a little more flavor. I added two tablespoons of red pepper flakes to the sauce and wish I had added more. Perhaps I needed to season the vegetables more...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2008
Fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 132) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spinach Lasagna III

This hearty meatless lasagna is layered with cheese, fresh spinach, and sauce.

Slow Cooker Lasagna

See how to make a meaty lasagna in the slow cooker.

Cheesy Vegetable Lasagna

See how to make a cheesy, saucy vegetarian lasagna that’s loaded with veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States