Veggie Lasagna Florentine Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2008
I was a little scared by the fact that, blended, the spinach and the cheese made a bright green glop. I felt like I was making guacamole! It was very tasty and an interesting way to incorporate the spinach into the recipe. Yes, it does take a long time but it's well worth it. Changes: I didn't boil the noodles (no need to) and used only one can of crushed tomatoes. I also added a number of miscellaneous vegetables and sauteed portabello mushrooms. Per request of the boyfriend, he made soy sausage patties and we crumbled them in one of the layers. All in all, this was one of the greatest dinners I've ever made and is still talked about by my roommates. (We froze half of it... we didn't think it froze well? Maybe others have had better experiences with it.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2008
My first attempt at a meatless lasagna and it was delicious. I made a few small changes - like others I did not cook the noodles I used pre-cooked no boiling required (the only way to go). I halved the recipe as cooking for two. I used Fresh mushrooms, added a carrot and chopped all vege's very finely using the chopping attachment of my blender. The sauce came out looking like meat sauce as the veges were cut up fine, and cooked quicker. DH raved about it and we are looking forward to the leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathietay

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winton, Southland, New Zealand

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2007
Hooray! This is AWESOME! And for once, I actually followed the recipe exactly!! (With the exception of not boiling the noodles first...they still turn out perfectly!) My boyfriend and I both absolutely loved this! I've been wanting to eat completely veggie 1-2 days per week (healthier and cheaper!), but he's pretty hard to convince...if I can find more recipes like this, we'll have no problem!! (The cottage cheese provides PLENTY of protein.) The prep work was a little time consuming, but I'll forgive it because it tastes so great. I divided this into two 8x8 pans and put one in the freezer for a future dinner...I hope it holds up well! (I think it should...) Thanks again for the fab recipe!! UPDATE: The re-heated casserole was great immediately out of the oven, but the leftovers did not do quite as well after sitting in the fridge over night. Still edible, but a little watery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RedRobynNAU

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Living In: Chandler, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2007
I took the advice of some other reviewers and made a few changes: 1. No-boil noodles (they cooked perfectly in the liquid of the sauce, just be sure they're on top of sauce layers). 2. More veggies (I added green pepper and fresh portobello mushrooms coarsely chopped- it added bulk and texture to please the meat-eaters). 3. Half ricotta/half cottage cheese. 4. Fresh spinach instead of frozen. 5. Allow for about twice the recommended prep time, the sauce is delicious but requires a lot of chopping and simmering and a little less than the recommended cooking time. I found it was done to the point of the top cheese layer beginning to burn after 45 minutes. Definitely keep an eye on it. I served it to a house full of fairly picky omnivores and got lots of compliments, and I'm looking forward to the leftovers tomorrow myself. Very tasty and well worth the lengthy prep time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2007
This recipe is SO good! I threw in some extra veggies, and it was great! Don't boil the noodles! They cook themselves perfectly in the oven! Also, be cautious because the cheese burns!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Miss Ashley K.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Modesto, California, USA
Living In: Marina, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2007
I cut the recipe in half and omitted the mushrooms, other than that followed the recipe exactly. I only gave it three stars because it was good, but not anything exceptional in my opinion. My husband thought something was missing...and it needed more cheese. Next time I'd add more veggies and definitely more cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2007
this was very good, it took ALOT longer then the directions indicated, having a helping hand in the kitchen would be good. i useded the no bake noodles worked just fine i made sure i spread sauce to the corner of each piece and all was well. i added more cheese and it was a hit at my party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Megan

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2007
Having made this recipe several times, I recommend only three modifications to take the lasagna from great to super fantastic. First, do not boil the lasagna. There is more than enough liquid to cook the pasta as the dish bakes. If you boil the lasagna first, it ends up kind of mealy and mushy. Second, add chunky pieces of pan seared portebello mushrooms. They are really chewy and meaty, and help to make this veggis lasagna satisfying to meat eaters. Third, if you can find smoked mozzeralla, use some. Every time I've added it, I've gotten rave reviews specifically on the smoky taste. I use half smoked mozzerella, and half whole milk mozzerella.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ABoston

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tifton, Georgia, USA
Living In: Manhattan Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2007
I made this for a friends of ours that have 3 girls and everyone cleaned their plate. It does make a lot of sauce. I didn't use all the sauce and would probably use even less because it came out a bit too saucy for my taste. Was excellent as left overs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2007
I normally don't like dishes without meat, but this was wonderful! I halved the tomatoes and added squash and it turned out great. Also, used uncooked noodles and they came out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbia, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 135) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Lasagna

Pair this rich, easy lasagna with a crunchy kale salad.

Spinach Lasagna III

This hearty meatless lasagna is layered with cheese, fresh spinach, and sauce.

Slow Cooker Lasagna

See how to make a meaty lasagna in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States