Veggie Lasagna Florentine Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
I used Ricotta cheese instead of cottage cheese. My husband loved this recipe! The most delicious lasagna ever! I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CytoPanda

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
I made this recipe just as it is written with no substitutions and it was wonderful! Next time I will use more spinach and cheese mixture just because my husband and I love spinach. There was quite a bit of sauce leftover but I think it is great to top off left overs. It did take me longer than 20 minutes to prepare but totally worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tasha

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2010
I made this recipe once a few years ago and absolutely loved it. I thought I had lost the recipe but found it today folded in an old cookbook so I immediately logged on to add it to my favorites so it never can get lost again, and to leave a much derserved 5 star rating! I recall making a few substitutions as suggested by others: I doubled everything except for the sauce, used zucchini, yellow squash, broccoli, spinach, onion and mushrooms as the veggies and doubled the mozzarella (hey, I LOVE CHEESE!) and ricotta and added some red pepper flakes for some heat. I substituted the oregano with dried italian seasoning and I also did not bother pre-boiling the noodles - there is no reason! There is plenty of moisture with this amount of sauce to cook the noodles. For those of you that have wondered - it freezes well. I had plenty left over and cut into individual servings, wrapped in foil and froze with excellent results. I am so happy I found this recipe again! Fantastic recipe - even for meat lovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Reading, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Hitchcock, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2010
As other reviewers suggested, I doubled the spinach/cheese mixture and used fresh mushrooms in the sauce. I also used fresh spinach (squeeze out the moisture) and ricotta in place of the cottage cheese. It fit nicely in a 10x14 pan. Those were great suggestions. Great recipe. I'll make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2010
This veggie lasagna is GREAT! I never really liked cottage cheese in lasagna, probably because it melts chunky. Blending in in the food processor with herbs is a great idea! The cheesy layer tasted like it was an expensive bocconcini or mascarpone cheese. What a great inexpensive way to add that to lasagna. I'll definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pinkypink

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2010
Substituted freshly sauted spinach and mushrooms from the frozen/canned varieties the recipe calls for. Turned out excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by cheyenne
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2010
all i gotta say is DELICIOUS!! Use the recipe as a base and use veggies to your liking. I used: fresh mushrooms, fresh spinach, 1 yellow onion, 1 zucchini, 1 broccoli crown, 1 carrot, and 1 yellow squash. Definitely use fresh when you can. I also used ricotta cheese and Barilla no boil noodles work like a charm. I'm going to try eggplant next time. The prep time is about 45 minutes...depending on the cook. A great veggie dish everyone will love!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2010
I'm sorry I don't like to give negative reviews, but I didn't care for this recipe. The spinach filling was too sparse, and the tomato sauce was overpowering. Maybe cooking it longer than 15 minutes and increasing the spinach filling would have helped. Also the veggies in the sauce almost disappeared. I might make it again with these changes. Thanks anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Phyllis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Metairie, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2010
I agree with the prep. time not being accurate in this reporting, but it was not overly extensive either for the fantastic flavourful outcome. I have made vegetarian lasagnas before, & this one - by far - exceeds any expectations you would have. It is very hearty... I used fresh mushrooms & added carrots as well to the sauce. In addition, I will be doubling the spinach mixture the next time (be sure to have a deeper pan if this is the case). In addition, I used the ricotta instead of the cottage cheese. Very flavourful, tasty, hearty, and healthy (I also used multigrain lasagna noodles instead of white or wholewheat).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kari
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2010
Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kari

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Leesburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 130) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Lasagna

See how to make a meaty lasagna in the slow cooker.

Spinach Lasagna III

This hearty meatless lasagna is layered with cheese, fresh spinach, and sauce.

Creamy Chicken Lasagna

Chicken and cream cheese star in this deliciously unique lasagna.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States