Veggie Lasagna Florentine Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2011
This lasagna was great! Instead of two cans of crushed tomatoes, I used half a can of pre-made spaghetti sauce and filled the rest in with fresh tomatoes from our garden, simmered over medium heat for a while before adding it to the vegetables. I also used baby spinach instead of frozen spinach.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2011
Next time I will use my own sauce recipe and use low fat ricotta cheese instead of cottage cheese. Freezes well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bookgirl1972

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2011
YUM! This is one of the very few recipes I found that used veggies in a lasagna along with a red sauce. Most used a white sauce. I made the Best Marinara Sauce Yet from this site the day prior. I added to it more oregano and garlic. I too used fresh mushrooms which I diced same as the zucchini. If you haven't made lasagna without pre-boiling the pasta, DO IT. I used my regular ole lasagna noodles and it cooked up beautifully. I followed the recipe besides the aforementioned changes. I do tend to stick to freshly grated cheeses which I did with this recipe and of course freshly minced garlic. I'm not a "no meat in my meal" kinda girl, but as another review mentioned, it was not missed at all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
So good! I brought this to a work potluck, and everyone asked for the recipe. Most people didn't even notice it was vegetarian. I added some extra black pepper and chili flakes to the sauce to an extra kick. Will be making this again next week!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ohnooto

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2011
Ok, to be honest, I didn't eat this but I made it for my husband and he loved it! I also used precooked noodles, and fresh spinach (just added it to the cottage cheese) and fresh mushrooms. Also added 1 lb ground beef. A bit puttery but hubby loves it and it made a huuuuge pan, so he's happy for a while.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
This was delicious. I made it for my vegetarian boyfriend and we were both thrilled with the result. I also used fresh (wilted) spinach, fresh mushrooms and added fresh basil instead of dried. I used full fat cottage cheese and I cheated a bit by using seasoned chunked tomatoes rather than just the plain crushed. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2010
I really enjoyed this lasagne, I added extra onion and garlic but this is just our personal taste. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sarnia, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Centerville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
I used Ricotta cheese instead of cottage cheese. My husband loved this recipe! The most delicious lasagna ever! I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CytoPanda

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
I made this recipe just as it is written with no substitutions and it was wonderful! Next time I will use more spinach and cheese mixture just because my husband and I love spinach. There was quite a bit of sauce leftover but I think it is great to top off left overs. It did take me longer than 20 minutes to prepare but totally worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tasha

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2010
I made this recipe once a few years ago and absolutely loved it. I thought I had lost the recipe but found it today folded in an old cookbook so I immediately logged on to add it to my favorites so it never can get lost again, and to leave a much derserved 5 star rating! I recall making a few substitutions as suggested by others: I doubled everything except for the sauce, used zucchini, yellow squash, broccoli, spinach, onion and mushrooms as the veggies and doubled the mozzarella (hey, I LOVE CHEESE!) and ricotta and added some red pepper flakes for some heat. I substituted the oregano with dried italian seasoning and I also did not bother pre-boiling the noodles - there is no reason! There is plenty of moisture with this amount of sauce to cook the noodles. For those of you that have wondered - it freezes well. I had plenty left over and cut into individual servings, wrapped in foil and froze with excellent results. I am so happy I found this recipe again! Fantastic recipe - even for meat lovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Reading, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Hitchcock, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 136) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Lasagna

Pair this rich, easy lasagna with a crunchy kale salad.

Spinach Lasagna III

This hearty meatless lasagna is layered with cheese, fresh spinach, and sauce.

Slow Cooker Lasagna

See how to make a meaty lasagna in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States