Veggie Lasagna Florentine Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2013
I make this almost every week. Every one LOVES it! It is the only way I can get my son to eat zucchini with no complaints.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2013
needs more sauce than called for
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michaela Voss

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2013
WAY too much garlic for this recipe! It's all I could taste! Less garlic (1 tbls, maybe) and maybe some tender carrots or other veggies added in and this would be great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2013
Made w/ changes. I would keep those changes and incorporate a few more when making this again. Used 8 oz. box oven ready lasagna rather than 16 oz. reg. ones. There were 12 lasagna pieces in a box, and 3 pieces for each layer fit perfectly in a 9" x 13" dish, leaving 3 unused. Used fresh mushrooms vs. canned when making the sauce, and added red pepper flakes. The 4 lbs. canned tomato products included in the sauce overshadow the other vegetables in this dish. Fortunately, the sauce was quite tasty. Next time, I’ll cut the tomatoes back to about 35 oz. to bring more balance so other veggies have a chance to shine through. For the cheese/spinach mixture, subbed ricotta for cottage cheese and 10 oz. tub fresh baby spinach for the frozen spinach. Steamed the spinach for a couple minutes to make it more pliable. Next time, I’ll at least double the spinach. With a Misto, lightly sprayed olive oil on last layer of cheese mixture before placing in oven. This lasagna is flavorful and healthy, and a great starting point to customize a version best suited to the preferences of each cook. With changes, this recipe is 5*. See notes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ConkyJoe
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2013
Superb! Best lasagna ever! I mostly followed the recipe, and am happy that it was a bit versatile to use what I had available. I used extra fresh garlic, diced canned tomatoes and accidentally forgot the tomato paste, shredded carrot in place of brown sugar, lots of fresh finely chopped mushrooms, and an extra large shredded yellow squash in place of zucchini, and did not add salt. I skipped step with the mixer to save time, so sauce was chunky. I simplified into 2 layers -- sauce, noodles, sauce, cottage cheese mixture, noodles, cheese, basil. I really think all the seasonings is what pulled it together. Everything fit perfectly in my 11 x 14 inch pan. This is good! Thank you for recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2013
There is a lot of flavor packed in this recipe. I used 1/2 pound of fresh, chopped mushrooms instead of the canned, and Italian seasoning blend instead of the oregano. Those were my only subs, and I will make this again. Didn't miss the meat at all, with all the cheese!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bibi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bowling Green, Kentucky, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2013
We LOVE this recipe. I use ricotta cheese instead of cottage cheese, and add a splash of balsamic vinegar to the sauce instead of the brown sugar. You can play with the flavors all you want, and it's still a good dish. I disagree with the no-boil comments, though. Boil the noodles first for the right texture. If you don't, the crunchy parts that stick out that everybody loves to fight over get burnt and chewy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jefferson, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Boone, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2013
This was fantastic and absolutely a keeper. Hubby and I are new to the vegetarian diet and are thrilled to have a dish that is so satisfying without tofu (yuck). I followed the reviews and skipped the brown sugar (I think the tomatoes and tomato paste make it sweet enough), but I did not substitute with red papper flakes. I also doubled the herbs, and then added some dry spaghetti mix (which eliminates the no-preservative effect) because I like my sauce rich and robust flavored. I used part-skim ricotta and fresh spinach and kept adding the spinach to the blender of ricotta until it was a little greener than the color of green goddess dressing. I also used fresh mushrooms because of my preference for them. I shredded the zucchini/squash and doubled that as well. I had enough marinara sauce left over for a quick night of small spaghetti dish. We ate half for dinner and lunch the next day (double servings w/o any other sides), and then I froze the other half for a future meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2013
I liked it, but it wasn't the normal zesty lasagna taste I was expecting. Hearty and savory, but not much zip to it. I think I would just up all of the seasonings, skip the sugar and add crushed pepper flakes as others have suggested. I also made this using gluten free noodles (Tinkyada) and followed some of the modifications submitted by other users, like ricotta instead of cottage cheese. In addition to the zucchini I added a yellow squash, some very small pieces of broccoli and some black olives. I cooked the GF noodles half way, but even that left them a little "wimpy." Next time I think I will just soak the noodles in hot water while I prep the ingredients or cooking them halfway and then rinse them in cold water instead of letting them sit on the stove while I finished prepping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2013
This lasagna was delicious! Even my meat-loving husband had seconds. It was also great as leftovers on the 2nd and 3rd day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 136) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Lasagna

Pair this rich, easy lasagna with a crunchy kale salad.

Spinach Lasagna III

This hearty meatless lasagna is layered with cheese, fresh spinach, and sauce.

Slow Cooker Lasagna

See how to make a meaty lasagna in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States