Veggie Lasagna Florentine Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2013
Superb! Best lasagna ever! I mostly followed the recipe, and am happy that it was a bit versatile to use what I had available. I used extra fresh garlic, diced canned tomatoes and accidentally forgot the tomato paste, shredded carrot in place of brown sugar, lots of fresh finely chopped mushrooms, and an extra large shredded yellow squash in place of zucchini, and did not add salt. I skipped step with the mixer to save time, so sauce was chunky. I simplified into 2 layers -- sauce, noodles, sauce, cottage cheese mixture, noodles, cheese, basil. I really think all the seasonings is what pulled it together. Everything fit perfectly in my 11 x 14 inch pan. This is good! Thank you for recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2013
There is a lot of flavor packed in this recipe. I used 1/2 pound of fresh, chopped mushrooms instead of the canned, and Italian seasoning blend instead of the oregano. Those were my only subs, and I will make this again. Didn't miss the meat at all, with all the cheese!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bibi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bowling Green, Kentucky, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2013
We LOVE this recipe. I use ricotta cheese instead of cottage cheese, and add a splash of balsamic vinegar to the sauce instead of the brown sugar. You can play with the flavors all you want, and it's still a good dish. I disagree with the no-boil comments, though. Boil the noodles first for the right texture. If you don't, the crunchy parts that stick out that everybody loves to fight over get burnt and chewy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jefferson, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Boone, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2013
This was fantastic and absolutely a keeper. Hubby and I are new to the vegetarian diet and are thrilled to have a dish that is so satisfying without tofu (yuck). I followed the reviews and skipped the brown sugar (I think the tomatoes and tomato paste make it sweet enough), but I did not substitute with red papper flakes. I also doubled the herbs, and then added some dry spaghetti mix (which eliminates the no-preservative effect) because I like my sauce rich and robust flavored. I used part-skim ricotta and fresh spinach and kept adding the spinach to the blender of ricotta until it was a little greener than the color of green goddess dressing. I also used fresh mushrooms because of my preference for them. I shredded the zucchini/squash and doubled that as well. I had enough marinara sauce left over for a quick night of small spaghetti dish. We ate half for dinner and lunch the next day (double servings w/o any other sides), and then I froze the other half for a future meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2013
I liked it, but it wasn't the normal zesty lasagna taste I was expecting. Hearty and savory, but not much zip to it. I think I would just up all of the seasonings, skip the sugar and add crushed pepper flakes as others have suggested. I also made this using gluten free noodles (Tinkyada) and followed some of the modifications submitted by other users, like ricotta instead of cottage cheese. In addition to the zucchini I added a yellow squash, some very small pieces of broccoli and some black olives. I cooked the GF noodles half way, but even that left them a little "wimpy." Next time I think I will just soak the noodles in hot water while I prep the ingredients or cooking them halfway and then rinse them in cold water instead of letting them sit on the stove while I finished prepping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2013
This lasagna was delicious! Even my meat-loving husband had seconds. It was also great as leftovers on the 2nd and 3rd day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2012
The first lasagna recipe I've made that isn't super watery! I left out the sugar & realized I forgot basil so used some refrigerated pesto & it turned out fantastic. I also added the veggies that needed to be used from my fridge & it only made it tastier!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by *Sherri*
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2012
I made with all fresh ingredients (except tomatoes), just added the fresh spinach in with the veggies the last five minutes of simmering until wilted. I didn't blend the cheese in a blender, just mixed it in a bowl with some ricotta since I was falling short of 16 oz. of cottage cheese. I like to dash in some nutmeg for extra flavor. This is the first time I've ever tried the no-boil lasagna noodles, and they were great...just make sure you have the sauce layer next to them for moisture, saves so much time. This turned out so good and fresh tasting and the no-meat wasn't missed by my husband of son at all. I used all low-fat/part skim cheeses to make it extra healthy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *Sherri*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winter Springs, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2012
This was amazing, everyone loved it and went back for extras. Per other reviews I left out brown sugar, used ricotta instead of cottage cheese and wilted fresh spinach instead of using frozen. I didn't use a blender to mix the cheese/spinach. I used extra veggies, cheese and seasoning to my taste, but other than that followed the recipe. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2012
DELICIOUS!!!!! This recipe was perfect, and everyone who tried it loved it. I ate the left overs every day until they were gone - it was so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by maddie44

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 132) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Lasagna

Pair this rich, easy lasagna with a crunchy kale salad.

Spinach Lasagna III

This hearty meatless lasagna is layered with cheese, fresh spinach, and sauce.

Slow Cooker Lasagna

See how to make a meaty lasagna in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States