Veggie Goulash Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Carla December
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2012
This was excellent! I did make a couple of mods based on what was on hand. I drizzled some honey in to give it a little punch of sweetness, and I subbed an unmeasured amount of worchestire for red (I was out). I subbed 2 stalks of celery for GP since I wanted to use it up. We loved it. Thank you so much!:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carla December

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2011
Very good! I took out the oregano and added 1 tbl spoon Worcestershire sauce and used Quorn meat crumbles
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dlwiesner

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Arvada, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Melanie
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2011
This pretty much tastes like Italian, what with the tomato and oregano and all. I do not know what Quorn is, so I substituted tofu using the following methodology: Press a block of extra firm tofu in a kitchen towel to get as much water out as possible. Cut into half inch cubes. Coat cubes in a mixture of 3T firmly packed brown sugar, 1T paprika, and 1/4t ground ginger powder. Bake in 400F oven on parchment until edges get firm. Mix into recipe where Quorn is used. Also, I used a can of "Pear tomato strips in puree and basil", Great Value brand from Wal-Mart, then left out the tomato puree addition. Served over spiral noodles. This was easy, satisfying, not too strange for my husband, so I'll make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melanie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2010
I lacked a few ingredients, so substituted the green bell pepper for a red one, and replaced the red wine for vegetable stock. Also didn't have any whole canned tomatoes so I just used chopped ones. I omitted the sugar in the end, and used a bit more tomato puree for sweetness. Having read other reviews, I added about 1 tsp of carraway seeds, which was a great touch. I also added a handful of frozen green beans. I doubled the recipe and it made four standards size portions. This is a great dish that I will be making many more times!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Malmö, Skane, Sweden
Living In: Berlin, Berlin, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2010
REALLY good! The only changes I made: I used a red pepper instead of green, because that's just what I had. And I forgot to add sugar at the end. But it was still really tasty and since I almost always have these ingredients at hand, I will definitely be making this quite often. I think the only change I'd make next time is I might perhaps use a wee bit less wine. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katherine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cairo, Al-Qahirah, Egypt
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2010
YUM!! Thanks for the recipe using Quorn - a product I use a lot. Using crumbles as others have done would make a completly different recipe than intended, try this with Quorn. It can be found in the freezer section of larger supermarkets, and health food stores (either in the meat substitute section, or the health food section.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sheffield, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
Excellent. I increased the paprika, and used more oil (olive), my family loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wryly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2009
Not impressed. I don't use Quorn, so I used ground, seasoned seitan instead. The second day I added braised cactus leaf and was able to salvage the leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 4n20blackbirds

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: College Park, Maryland, USA
Living In: Amherst, New Hampshire, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2009
This is a great vegetarian recipe, though like most reviewers I made it with mushrooms (portabella caps) instead of Quorn. As written, I thought it was missing a little something as I tasted it cooking. So I added more (LOTS more) paprika and a dash of cayenne (since I've never been able to find good hot Hungarian paprika). That added measurably, but it was still missing a note. Finally, when I reheated some leftovers, I added some caraway -- and that made the dish shine! NOTE: This recipe makes about double what I'd call "2 servings." YMMV.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2009
Fantastic! I did this recipe tonight and my partner loved it, even if he is not vegetarian! Great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Ginger Veggie Stir-Fry

Your favorite veggies stir-fried with a mild garlic, ginger, and soy sauce.

Mushroom Veggie Burger

See how to make a flavorful veggie burger that’s never dry.

Goulash Supreme

Macaroni simmers with ground beef and onions in a spicy tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States