Veggie Delight on Garlic Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2005
This is a great recipe exactly as written, though I do always salt my eggplant first to make sure it's not bitter. I've tried other variations, all very good: adding several spoonfuls of pesto in lieu of the basil, melting mozzarella cheese on the garlic bread, serving with focaccia or pita bread. I've also varied the amount of each vegetable based on what I had on hand, and it's come out great every time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2001
Absolutely excellent! The only thing I will change next time is to serve it on toasted pita triangles rather than crusty bread...I'll get more of the tasty spread that way!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2002
Although I added goat cheese for a little extra flavor, I was a bit disappointed with the intensity of flavor overall. Unfortunately, I did not have fresh herbs on hand so I used dried herbs (2x as much), so that may be reason for the perceived lack of flavor. Maybe it just needs more salt. I must agree with everyone that it is a very tasty dish and I looked forward to eating the leftovers (with extra salt :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2000
This is a really nice recipe. I made it as a side dish. I used a whole loaf of french bread which I cut into wedges. It went over really well. There is enough left over for tomorrow's lunch. Quite delicious. This could also be made as a nice lunch in itself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by gapch1026
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2009
What a great idea... I used zucchini, mushrooms, green onion, tomato, and ripe olives with a splash of balsamic vinegar added as they simmered together. Just like a delicious veggie pizza.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gapch1026

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2008
I found this recipe because I was looking for light, healthier dishes. I made it for dinner and both my husband and I really enjoyed it. I chopped the vegetables into larger chunks so it didn't fit well on small rounds of bread, so instead I sliced the loaf of french bread the long way, baked it with the garlic and butter and then piled the veggie mix on top, while it was still warm. It was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2002
Suprisingly yummy! The flavors blend together very well to be a very tasty treat, a great appetizer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2009
We loved it!! Added a vidalia onion to the mix. Took the baguette, sliced in thirds - then each in half lenthwise. Made a wonderful open sandwich. Also, used a drizzle of EVOO instead of butter on the bread. Once assembled added a little shredded Parmesan over the veggies. Fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Powhatan, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2010
Mmmm...we added a bit of onion and green pepper, then topped with fresh parm. What a great way to use all the goodies fresh from the garden.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CookinBug
Reviewed: May 3, 2010
Very good! I did sweat my eggplant for about a half an hour before cooking to avoid sogginess. I omitted the salt during cooking due to salting the eggplant to sweat it, but otherwise followed the recipe. Topped with a bit of shredded Italian cheese blend before serving. Thanks! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinBug
Home Town: Ithaca, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 54) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Roasted Garlic Bread

See how to make quick-and-easy garlic bread with roasted garlic.

Broccoli Garlic Angel Hair Pasta

See how to make a garlicky broccoli sauce for angel hair pasta.

Savory Garlic Marinated Steaks

See how to make a simple marinade for tender, flavorful grilled steaks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States