Veggie Chicken Rice Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by SLCPaladin
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2014
For the veggies, I used a frozen veggie mix of diced carrots, green beans, and corn and added some fresh summer squash that I sauteed. I stuck with the cream of chicken soup and used frozen chicken breasts that I had baked a day earlier at 350 degrees for 40 minutes. I salted, peppered, and cubed the chicken. I also followed the recommendations of some posters to spice up the casserole: I added some fresh ground black pepper, garlic powder, ground thyme, and a splash of Worcestershire sauce. I think I would omit the Worcestershire sauce if I were to make it again as it seemed to overpower things a bit. I did not use crushed buttered crackers as I wanted to keep the dish somewhat healthy. Instead, I topped with sliced cheddar cheese when there was about 5 minutes remaining on the cook time. I should note that I did not add the water because the casserole consistency seemed fine without it. I think it would have been too runny with the water. Even with all the modifications, I don't know if I would make this again. It was a bit too much effort for something that was just so-so in my opinion. That said, maybe it would have been better I stuck with the original recipe and topped with crackers, but we just won't buy crackers in our house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SLCPaladin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: South Jordan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2014
Delish and Easy! I used 1 cream of chicken and a cup of sour cream. I put the cooked rice on the bottom then added the mixture on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tonya Lucas Baker
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2014
Amazing!!! My picky eaters had seconds. Thank you so much. I used what I had on hand. Cream of broccoli and cream of chicken. I cut in strips 3 chicken breasts and grilled it in salt, garlic powder and garlic paste. After it is cooked through and cooled I cube it into tiny pieces. I mix all together as directed except I use milk instead of water. Thank you so much!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tonya Lucas Baker
Home Town: Oak Hill, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2012
I used 2 packets of chicken flavored rice and 1 can of cream of chicken and 1 can of cheddar soup and I topped with cheddar cheese and then crushed ritz crackers on it after serving it on the plate. It was a very simple dish that I will make again since it was a huge hit at my house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2011
This was really good. A nice simple recipe for very basic fare. Made as written but I had no Ritz crackers so I used potato chips. Kid and husband friendly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kate Fisher

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Walla Walla, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2011
Too bland...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Canton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2011
This was yummy and easy! I used cream of mushroom since I had no cream of chicken, and when I made my rice I cooked it with a chicken broth/water mixture. I added some garlic salt and black pepper to the casserole. Since I didn't have any crackers (I know, weird right?) I topped it with french fried onions and then put cheddar cheese one top of them. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2011
This turned out great! I changed a few things up, instead of white rice I used brown and instead of water I used milk. I just filled one can from the chicken soup with milk. I also didn't use the crackers. I browned the chicken first and because I used uncooked rice, I had to bake it for 1 1/2 hrs. If you want a quick meal cook the rice first. I just felt it easy to mix everything together and cook it all at once. At the end I sprinkled a little bit of shredded cheese on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cmom1311

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2011
The family really enjoyed this recipe. I added 1 teaspoon of California style garlic pepper, 1/2 teaspoon ground chimayo chillies, and 1/4 teaspoon black pepper. It had a little bit of a bite to it but we really enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mtbiketx

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Trophy Club, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2011
Easy and fast to make with what you have on hand. I used canned chicken breast, substituted one can cream of mushroom and used canned green beans. I also upped the rice to 3 cups because we like rice :) Used a can of milk and added 1/2 cup shredded cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kzastrow

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 54) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Easy Delicious Chicken and Rice Casserole

This chicken and rice casserole is simple and tasty.

Broccoli, Rice, Cheese, and Chicken Casserole

See how to make the ultimate one-dish broccoli and rice casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States