Veggie Cheddar Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Magnolia Blossom
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2013
Tasty. Easy to adjust calories if desired by switching out low-fat milk and/or cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Magnolia Blossom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lostant, Illinois, USA
Living In: Magnolia, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: May 1, 2008
GREAT Soup, I serve it every Christmas Eve and we love it! I use more potatoes and cheese like the other reviewer said and it helps to steam the veggies first.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sheshops2much

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
So darn good! I incorporated a few suggestions from other reviewers & I bet either way this recipe is fantastic. I did increase potatoes to about 4 or 5 (they were pretty small). I used beer to just cover what potatoes the broth didn't. I added an extra cup of cheese. I sauteed the onions in olive oil for a bit & then added the carrots. And the carrots... I tried using my new food processor to chop them & I somewhat shredded them by accident. But it really worked for us! My 5yr old had 3 1/2 good size bowls. We all loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Midwest City, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2009
5 stars This recipe is excellent The only change you may wish is add more vegtables and double the recipe. "ENJOY" Also make a batch of Big Daddies Biscuits
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brantford, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2004
Great recipe, but steam the vegetables first and throw in some cubed ham. We used vidalia onions and sauteed the onions and celery before adding to the soup. The cheese base is SUPER delicious - you MUST try this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2006
Fantastic! used regular onion, sauteed onion,celery,carrots and potatoes all at once.. used 4 cups of cheese, added more garlic, and then pureed at the end. Even the kids loved it. good way to hide vegetables from them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rina

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Eugene, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2009
Make it 5 star by replacing some of the broth with a can or bottle of beer of your preference. Mince your carrots, celery & onion very small and skip the potatoes. The alcohol in the beer will boil off while the veggies are cooking. Don't boil once you add the cheese. Garnish each serving with some popcorn. Yummy!!! I don't like beer but I sure love this soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2011
Delicious! Unfortunately, I used generic store-bought shredded cheddar cheese and it caused lots of cheesy lumps (despite adding it very slowly). Everything else about the dish was fantastic, though: be sure to get quality cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2008
This is a great meal on a cool night. I will saute onions, carrots, celery, and potatoes next time and then let them boil together after adding the broth for quite awhile longer to make sure they all get tender. I also added fresh mushrooms and I highly recommend it. I felt they added a lot to the soup. Some frozen peas at the end was nice as well. Give it a try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fenton, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2010
Very hearty and satisfying potato soup!! Steamed the carrots and onions in the micro first (didn't have celery) before sautéing in margarine. Added extra potato and cheese just because I had it. Delicious!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Simple Broccoli Soup with Cheddar Croutons

Discover a terrific technique for making vegetable soups.

Cream of Mushroom Soup I

See how to make rich, creamy mushroom soup from scratch.

Rich and Simple French Onion Soup

Caramelized onions are infused in a rich broth, topped with bread and cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States