Veggie Cheddar Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2008
This is a great meal on a cool night. I will saute onions, carrots, celery, and potatoes next time and then let them boil together after adding the broth for quite awhile longer to make sure they all get tender. I also added fresh mushrooms and I highly recommend it. I felt they added a lot to the soup. Some frozen peas at the end was nice as well. Give it a try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fenton, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2007
Just a great hearty soup. Next time I will add more potato and onion. I went a little heavy with the celery, I will cut that back a bit. You really should try this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by James Somers

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clifford, Michigan, USA
Living In: Kingsley, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2008
GREAT Soup, I serve it every Christmas Eve and we love it! I use more potatoes and cheese like the other reviewer said and it helps to steam the veggies first.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sheshops2much

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2006
Fantastic! used regular onion, sauteed onion,celery,carrots and potatoes all at once.. used 4 cups of cheese, added more garlic, and then pureed at the end. Even the kids loved it. good way to hide vegetables from them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rina

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Eugene, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
So darn good! I incorporated a few suggestions from other reviewers & I bet either way this recipe is fantastic. I did increase potatoes to about 4 or 5 (they were pretty small). I used beer to just cover what potatoes the broth didn't. I added an extra cup of cheese. I sauteed the onions in olive oil for a bit & then added the carrots. And the carrots... I tried using my new food processor to chop them & I somewhat shredded them by accident. But it really worked for us! My 5yr old had 3 1/2 good size bowls. We all loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Midwest City, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2004
Great recipe, but steam the vegetables first and throw in some cubed ham. We used vidalia onions and sauteed the onions and celery before adding to the soup. The cheese base is SUPER delicious - you MUST try this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2011
Delicious! Unfortunately, I used generic store-bought shredded cheddar cheese and it caused lots of cheesy lumps (despite adding it very slowly). Everything else about the dish was fantastic, though: be sure to get quality cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2009
Make it 5 star by replacing some of the broth with a can or bottle of beer of your preference. Mince your carrots, celery & onion very small and skip the potatoes. The alcohol in the beer will boil off while the veggies are cooking. Don't boil once you add the cheese. Garnish each serving with some popcorn. Yummy!!! I don't like beer but I sure love this soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2007
Just didn't do it for me
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EROCK101

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA
Photo by Magnolia Blossom
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2013
Tasty. Easy to adjust calories if desired by switching out low-fat milk and/or cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Magnolia Blossom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lostant, Illinois, USA
Living In: Magnolia, Illinois, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Simple Broccoli Soup with Cheddar Croutons

Discover a terrific technique for making vegetable soups.

Cream of Mushroom Soup I

See how to make rich, creamy mushroom soup from scratch.

How to Make Cream of Asparagus Soup

See how to make creamy fresh asparagus soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States