Veggie Cheddar Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Magnolia Blossom
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2013
Tasty. Easy to adjust calories if desired by switching out low-fat milk and/or cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Magnolia Blossom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lostant, Illinois, USA
Living In: Magnolia, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2013
This didn't do it for me either. It's just bland, and maybe I didn't make the roux thick enough, but I did add broccoli which seems to be the only good thing about it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2011
Delicious! Unfortunately, I used generic store-bought shredded cheddar cheese and it caused lots of cheesy lumps (despite adding it very slowly). Everything else about the dish was fantastic, though: be sure to get quality cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
So darn good! I incorporated a few suggestions from other reviewers & I bet either way this recipe is fantastic. I did increase potatoes to about 4 or 5 (they were pretty small). I used beer to just cover what potatoes the broth didn't. I added an extra cup of cheese. I sauteed the onions in olive oil for a bit & then added the carrots. And the carrots... I tried using my new food processor to chop them & I somewhat shredded them by accident. But it really worked for us! My 5yr old had 3 1/2 good size bowls. We all loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Midwest City, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2010
Very hearty and satisfying potato soup!! Steamed the carrots and onions in the micro first (didn't have celery) before sautéing in margarine. Added extra potato and cheese just because I had it. Delicious!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2009
Make it 5 star by replacing some of the broth with a can or bottle of beer of your preference. Mince your carrots, celery & onion very small and skip the potatoes. The alcohol in the beer will boil off while the veggies are cooking. Don't boil once you add the cheese. Garnish each serving with some popcorn. Yummy!!! I don't like beer but I sure love this soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2009
5 stars This recipe is excellent The only change you may wish is add more vegtables and double the recipe. "ENJOY" Also make a batch of Big Daddies Biscuits
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brantford, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2008
This is a great meal on a cool night. I will saute onions, carrots, celery, and potatoes next time and then let them boil together after adding the broth for quite awhile longer to make sure they all get tender. I also added fresh mushrooms and I highly recommend it. I felt they added a lot to the soup. Some frozen peas at the end was nice as well. Give it a try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fenton, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2008
GREAT Soup, I serve it every Christmas Eve and we love it! I use more potatoes and cheese like the other reviewer said and it helps to steam the veggies first.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sheshops2much

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2007
Just didn't do it for me
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EROCK101

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Cream of Mushroom Soup I

See how to make rich, creamy mushroom soup from scratch.

Baked Potato Soup I

This soup combines potatoes with bacon, cheese, and the works.

French Onion Soup

Learn how to make this classic, comforting onion soup at home.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States