Veggie Burgers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2003
I thought these were quite good. The true test was when even the "meat only" and the "I don't eat burgers" girls ate them and declared, "Hey, these are good!!!" I've tried several fast food and packaged "Veggie Burgers" and found them to be either too spicy or have too much filler. I read some of the reviews first so I wasn't surprised to find the mixture somewhat sticky. This could be because some of the 1 1/2 cups of flour should have been included in the mixture since there is far too much of it to simply dip 8 patties in, 1/2 a cup of flour is plenty for that purpose. I sprinkled about 3/4 of a cup of flour into the mixture which removed the stickiness. I used only zucchini since summer squash was unavailable the first time and way too expensive when it was available. A little grated red pepper added some "great" colour and flavour. These will be an added favourite to "Burger Night".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
256 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scarborough, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Kitchener, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2002
This is an excellent recipe for making homemade veggie burgers. I've made this many times and everyone loves the crunch of the oats (rather than beans like most veggie burger recipes call for). I make extra and use whole wheat flour to coat and cook each patty, wrap it in plastic, put them in a ziploc bag, and store them in the freezer. then i take them out and heat them on the pan when i want to eat them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
173 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KOOLBRICK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wall Township, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2004
This recipe is super. I did not change any ingredients. It took one minute to process ALL vegetables, onion and cheese in food processor. I sauted the vegetables in iron skillet for added vitamins. I sauted until the vegetables were free of any liquid. The reviews are right only 1/3 Cup of flour was necessary for dipping patties in after forming them. I pressed them in a hamburg press for uniformity. Because I knew that I would use a George Forman grill I added about 1/2 teaspoon of liquid smoke to mixture. They were just the best veggie burgers that I have ever made. I am anxious to substitute brocolli for some of the squash. I hope you enjoy your burger as much as we have.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
155 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2007
My bf & I LOVE these! I didn't think they were tasteless at all - we both really enjoyed the taste. I've made these dozens of times by now. I don't follow exact measurements, just add whatever I have on hand (sometimes no summer squash, just carrot & zucchini) and until the mixture forms nice patties. To those of you who's patties are sticky, add more oats; to those who have dry patties, add more veggies. Use common sense - add more or less of whatever you like, and get the consistency right by varying amounts of wet vs dry ingredients. I bread with breadcrumbs instead of flour. I also usually add nutritional yeast & breadcrumbs and sometimes add ground flax & wheat germ to the mixture (can't taste it or tell the difference without, so why not add some additional nutrition?). YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
91 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LRIGREM

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2006
I'm impressed. Pretty darn good. This is the only veggie burger I haven't thrown in the trash. Added a little mushroom and red pepper flakes. Also, a few drops of sesame oil-nice flavor. Pressed in bread crumbs-not flour. Sprayed patties with olive oil spray before putting on grill. This is the only veggie burger recipe I will ever use.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
66 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2003
This was my second time trying to make veggie burgers (my first attempt - different recipe - failed miserably). Fortunately these turned out wonderful. I think next time I will add some chopped up mushrooms and Montreal Steak spice to give them that added burger flavour! They held up very well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2002
Good recipe - I added 1/4 cup more oats and, since I was in a hurry, put the mixture in the freezer for about 20 minutes instead of the fridge. Had no problem with excess moisture or crumbling or falling apart. I mixed everything in my food proccessor. I placed my hands in the flour first before handling the mixture to make patties - really helped, no stickiness. The burgers tasted bland to me, even though I used a lot of garlic and Italian seasoning. But I love spicy food, so it's no wonder to me that they tasted bland. Think I'll try mixing in some ketchup or a little tomato sauce next time to give them more flavor. I like these! Will definitely make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2009
Great Texture! This was my first time making a veggie burger using oats. I was happy with the texture of these as they were not mushy like bean burgers which I also like. My finished burgers ended up lacking in flavor but it may be a result of my adjustments to get patties to form. So my review is mostly based on texture results. I had issues with the the mixture forming patties so I added another egg then added flour then I felt like it still needed something else and added more oats. For veggies I used a green bell pepper and the called for onions and carrots. I threw in some crushed walnuts and used a little feta cheese instead of cheddar. I'm going to have to tweak this to infuse some kind of flavor but I am thrilled about the texture. Even when I was ready to form patties with the mix out of the fridge they almost seemed like they might fall apart. I dredged them in flour on all sides and cooked them on the cast iron skillet and nothing fell apart. Because of the lack of flavor issue and depending on your modifications I would recommend that you test fry a single patty and then do a taste test. It doesn't take long to fry and you'll have the chance to adjust the seasoning if needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2002
I love this recipe!! It's a bit of work but well worth it. I've made this recipe 3 times, and the last time I trippled it! I froze some of the cooked patties, wrapping them individually in plastic wrap. Now I just have to pop one in the microwave for 30 seconds and voila, dinner! I don't have a broiler pan so I just placed them on sheets. I also had trouble with the flouring the patties so I omit this step and cook as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2010
I've used this as my go-to recipe for veggie burgers since the first time I made these. I followed MOMOFFOUR's advice, and put a half cup wheat flour in the veggie mix before refrigeration, and it helps with the consistency. I also keep it in the fridge overnight, and make each patty with cold, wet hands. (I like to keep a large bowl of ice water next to the bowl of ground veggies to cut down time) I've frozen these many times, but found that the best way is to spray a cookie sheet with non-stick spray, line it with wax paper, and lay the patties on it as they are shaped. cover it with another sheet of wax paper, and put in the freezer for a couple hours. When they're frozen, take them off the pan, and put them in a large freezer ziplock bag. It cuts down on labor time and saves wax paper/plastic wrap. This recipe can easily and succesfully be made vegan by replacing the egg with 1/4c blended silken tofu, and omitting the cheese. I added some extra liquid smoke to help cover up any flavor it might have brought, and they were excellent. surprisingly enough, the consistency was better with the vegan version; the patties stayed together much better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 156) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Homemade Black Bean Veggie Burgers

These 5-star veggie burgers have it all over frozen burgers.

California Grilled Veggie Sandwich

See how to make a 5-star sandwich with grilled vegetables on focaccia bread.

How to Make Veggie Shepherd’s Pie

Learn how to make a meat-free shepherd's pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States