Veggie Burgers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: May 7, 2009
I rate this recipe excellent. The second time I made them I accidentally added quite a bit of the flour into the mixture, it was very good and yes it does reduce the stickiness. My husband & I love this recipe. A little hot sauce makes it even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2009
Delicious. My husband and daughter ate them. Usually my husband sticks up his nose at veggie burgers but he ate these! Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2009
Great Texture! This was my first time making a veggie burger using oats. I was happy with the texture of these as they were not mushy like bean burgers which I also like. My finished burgers ended up lacking in flavor but it may be a result of my adjustments to get patties to form. So my review is mostly based on texture results. I had issues with the the mixture forming patties so I added another egg then added flour then I felt like it still needed something else and added more oats. For veggies I used a green bell pepper and the called for onions and carrots. I threw in some crushed walnuts and used a little feta cheese instead of cheddar. I'm going to have to tweak this to infuse some kind of flavor but I am thrilled about the texture. Even when I was ready to form patties with the mix out of the fridge they almost seemed like they might fall apart. I dredged them in flour on all sides and cooked them on the cast iron skillet and nothing fell apart. Because of the lack of flavor issue and depending on your modifications I would recommend that you test fry a single patty and then do a taste test. It doesn't take long to fry and you'll have the chance to adjust the seasoning if needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2009
The kids who hate veggies love these burgers! I also fry them in a pan and make them crispy.. they taste great dipping them into soy sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2009
I found this recipe while looking for a veggie burger recipe that did not include soy as almost all of the frozen ones on the market have a soy base (my baby loves veggie burgers but too much soy isn't good). That being said, I needed to change this recipe a bit to make it more appropriate. No egg white for babies under 1 year old so I substituted 2 egg yolks. I used 1/2c oats and 1c cooked brown rice because I had it on hand. If you don't feel like shredding all of those fresh veggies, you should know it works great to use a small bag of organic frozen veggies (I used carrots, peas, green beans and corn) and just roughly chop them in the food processor. They turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2009
This recipe was great! I made it when my niece (vegetarian) stayed with us. She loved them and so did her mom. We made this a few times and found that they taste even better if the mixture is made the day before you cook them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2008
These are good veggie burgers. I changed the recipe a bit for flavor, but I liked them very much. Will make again.:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2008
These were the first homemade veggie burgers I ever made. My 17 year old son is a recent veggie convert so I was encouraged by previous reviews, especially the lack of bean in this recipe. I feel like he eats enough beans in other recipes. THESE WERE DELICIOUS. Just read the reviews and add stuff your family likes. ENJOY ! Thank you, Jen !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2008
This is a great patty (?)...I would not call it a burger, it might turn some people off. The taste is very natural and mild which I love and is a great place to start. thanks for great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Eau Claire, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by bakingaddict
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2008
Was good. Didn't get the whole "tastes just like a burger" reviews, but it was still very good. Next time I'll add more soy sauce to my tasting, and maybe a pinch of salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bakingaddict

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Scarborough, Ontario, Canada

Displaying results 81-90 (of 156) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Homemade Black Bean Veggie Burgers

These 5-star veggie burgers have it all over frozen burgers.

California Grilled Veggie Sandwich

See how to make a 5-star sandwich with grilled vegetables on focaccia bread.

How to Make Veggie Shepherd’s Pie

Learn how to make a meat-free shepherd's pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States