Veggie Burgers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2009
We followed the recipe exactly. The burgers were cooked thoroughly but mushy in the middle and didn't have much flavor at all. Also they were quite a bit of work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Fishers, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2009
As-is these burgers are bland and difficult to work with. I don't know how they got 4+ stars from others. However, I added more oatmeal, wheat flour, garlic, and lots of spice (mesquite & caribbean jerk) and then they were quote good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2009
The recipe was excellent, and my daughter had to see the recipe because she loved them. than you Roberta
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2009
This is a really simple, good recipe for veggie burgers. I made only a couple small changes: I didn't have cheddar, so I subbed Monterrey jack and I used a rolled grain mix (oats, wheat, barley). Thanks for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sarasota, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2009
This burger was fantastic! My fridge was getting a little "bare" and after seeing this recipe, I decided to use up the last of the veggies that were in there...carrots, zucchini, well-minced broccoli, onion, garlic, etc. I sauteed everything, put in a big squirt of ranch dressing, some dashes of hot sauce, and adjusted salt and pepper. I semi-ground the oatmeal and added about 1/4 c of wheat germ and let it all "sit" for about 20 minutes. I found no need for egg or flour. The burgers are presently cooking on my cast-rom skillet with just a smidge of oil, and my toddler keeps coming over, asking for more "burger". This kid neve reats veggies, so this recipe is a GEM for our family. Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2009
a true great veggie burger 1ST class i am not a major fan of them but i get in the mood for one this is how it should be. when you get those ones in the store that at stuff to attempt a meat flavor are so bad that you can stuff them in the toilet and not no the diff. if you catch my drift
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lowell, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2009
I rate this recipe excellent. The second time I made them I accidentally added quite a bit of the flour into the mixture, it was very good and yes it does reduce the stickiness. My husband & I love this recipe. A little hot sauce makes it even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2009
Delicious. My husband and daughter ate them. Usually my husband sticks up his nose at veggie burgers but he ate these! Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2009
Great Texture! This was my first time making a veggie burger using oats. I was happy with the texture of these as they were not mushy like bean burgers which I also like. My finished burgers ended up lacking in flavor but it may be a result of my adjustments to get patties to form. So my review is mostly based on texture results. I had issues with the the mixture forming patties so I added another egg then added flour then I felt like it still needed something else and added more oats. For veggies I used a green bell pepper and the called for onions and carrots. I threw in some crushed walnuts and used a little feta cheese instead of cheddar. I'm going to have to tweak this to infuse some kind of flavor but I am thrilled about the texture. Even when I was ready to form patties with the mix out of the fridge they almost seemed like they might fall apart. I dredged them in flour on all sides and cooked them on the cast iron skillet and nothing fell apart. Because of the lack of flavor issue and depending on your modifications I would recommend that you test fry a single patty and then do a taste test. It doesn't take long to fry and you'll have the chance to adjust the seasoning if needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2009
The kids who hate veggies love these burgers! I also fry them in a pan and make them crispy.. they taste great dipping them into soy sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 152) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Homemade Black Bean Veggie Burgers

These 5-star veggie burgers have it all over frozen burgers.

How to Make Veggie Shepherd’s Pie

Learn how to make a meat-free shepherd's pie.

Mushroom Veggie Burger

See how to make a flavorful veggie burger that’s never dry.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States