Veggie Burgers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2009
I am a confirmed meat-eater, but my husband is vegetarian, and we BOTH love these! After a disastrous and inedible attempt at making black bean burgers once, I wasn't sure how this kind of veggie burger would turn out, but they taste GREAT. They fall apart more easily than a hamburger, sure, but that probably has a lot to do with how I always forget to squeeze the moisture out of the carrots and zucchini (important step!). I definitely recommend this recipe to anyone looking for a healthy, delicious meatless burger. Very tasty and satisfying.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TribePride

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2009
This is the first time I've ever tried a veggie burger, and while it came out delicious, I can't say it came out tasting like hamburger, nor did mine brown the way I'm seeing in the picture. Is there a special way to cook this so it's more like hamburger? I'm also wondering if I had too much veggie and not enough oats as they are kinda floppy. Over all though, the taste of what I did make was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2009
Yummy! After looking at all the veggie burger recipes on this site I chose this one because of the ratings and all the veggies. I have to admit that they were hard to work with, but I sprinkled the flour on a cookie sheet pakced the mix in a 1/2 c. measure and plopped it on the sheet. I sprinkled that with flour and pressed it out with my hands. Worked fine. I did add some cilantro, my favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by grammylynn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Savage, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Prior Lake, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2009
These were really great. I like spicy so I used about 2 tsp. ground red pepper, 1 tsp. black pepper, 1 T. worcestershire sauce. I also froze the patties, separated by wax paper (I was unable to cook the day I prepared them). When I cooked them I did so in a skillet, if you do that do not dip in flour, the flour does not cook correctly. I did add 1/4 to 1/2 C flour to the recipe. Thanks for a great alternative recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yuma, Arizona, USA
Living In: Diamondhead, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2009
Not bad. I'm a vegan so I skipped the cheese and egg. They stayed together really well and smelled fabulous cooking. I found that the more I ate of my burger the flatter and flatter it got! It ended up creeping outside of my bun. My husband's a meat eater and said they were alright, but he wouldn't go out of his way for them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Brampton, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Newmarket, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2009
Since being diagnosed with chronic pancreatitis, I have been on a search for a good veggie burger recipe. This is absolutley the best I've found.I omit the Olive oil and use a non-stick fry pan to cook the vegetables. The burgers hold together niceley and work well on the grill. They have a pleasing color and a nice "crunch".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2009
Love the texture, but they definitely need some spice or some type of seasoning. I added some cajun spice to mine. Also, I mixed in 1 cup of flour and used bread crumbs to bread them after shaping them. Washing my hands after forming 2 helped keep them from being too sticky. The recipe made 8 good sized patties for me. They froze really well, so I will be making a batch for the freezer to use up some veggies from the garden. Much better than the frozen ones you buy at the store.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2009
We followed the recipe exactly. The burgers were cooked thoroughly but mushy in the middle and didn't have much flavor at all. Also they were quite a bit of work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Fishers, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2009
As-is these burgers are bland and difficult to work with. I don't know how they got 4+ stars from others. However, I added more oatmeal, wheat flour, garlic, and lots of spice (mesquite & caribbean jerk) and then they were quote good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2009
The recipe was excellent, and my daughter had to see the recipe because she loved them. than you Roberta
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 158) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Homemade Black Bean Veggie Burgers

These 5-star veggie burgers have it all over frozen burgers.

California Grilled Veggie Sandwich

See how to make a 5-star sandwich with grilled vegetables on focaccia bread.

How to Make Veggie Shepherd’s Pie

Learn how to make a meat-free shepherd's pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States