Veggie Burgers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2009
Not bad. I'm a vegan so I skipped the cheese and egg. They stayed together really well and smelled fabulous cooking. I found that the more I ate of my burger the flatter and flatter it got! It ended up creeping outside of my bun. My husband's a meat eater and said they were alright, but he wouldn't go out of his way for them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Brampton, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Newmarket, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2009
Since being diagnosed with chronic pancreatitis, I have been on a search for a good veggie burger recipe. This is absolutley the best I've found.I omit the Olive oil and use a non-stick fry pan to cook the vegetables. The burgers hold together niceley and work well on the grill. They have a pleasing color and a nice "crunch".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2009
Love the texture, but they definitely need some spice or some type of seasoning. I added some cajun spice to mine. Also, I mixed in 1 cup of flour and used bread crumbs to bread them after shaping them. Washing my hands after forming 2 helped keep them from being too sticky. The recipe made 8 good sized patties for me. They froze really well, so I will be making a batch for the freezer to use up some veggies from the garden. Much better than the frozen ones you buy at the store.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2009
We followed the recipe exactly. The burgers were cooked thoroughly but mushy in the middle and didn't have much flavor at all. Also they were quite a bit of work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Fishers, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2009
As-is these burgers are bland and difficult to work with. I don't know how they got 4+ stars from others. However, I added more oatmeal, wheat flour, garlic, and lots of spice (mesquite & caribbean jerk) and then they were quote good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2009
The recipe was excellent, and my daughter had to see the recipe because she loved them. than you Roberta
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2009
This is a really simple, good recipe for veggie burgers. I made only a couple small changes: I didn't have cheddar, so I subbed Monterrey jack and I used a rolled grain mix (oats, wheat, barley). Thanks for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sarasota, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2009
This burger was fantastic! My fridge was getting a little "bare" and after seeing this recipe, I decided to use up the last of the veggies that were in there...carrots, zucchini, well-minced broccoli, onion, garlic, etc. I sauteed everything, put in a big squirt of ranch dressing, some dashes of hot sauce, and adjusted salt and pepper. I semi-ground the oatmeal and added about 1/4 c of wheat germ and let it all "sit" for about 20 minutes. I found no need for egg or flour. The burgers are presently cooking on my cast-rom skillet with just a smidge of oil, and my toddler keeps coming over, asking for more "burger". This kid neve reats veggies, so this recipe is a GEM for our family. Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2009
a true great veggie burger 1ST class i am not a major fan of them but i get in the mood for one this is how it should be. when you get those ones in the store that at stuff to attempt a meat flavor are so bad that you can stuff them in the toilet and not no the diff. if you catch my drift
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joe Bognanni

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lowell, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2009
I rate this recipe excellent. The second time I made them I accidentally added quite a bit of the flour into the mixture, it was very good and yes it does reduce the stickiness. My husband & I love this recipe. A little hot sauce makes it even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 155) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Homemade Black Bean Veggie Burgers

These 5-star veggie burgers have it all over frozen burgers.

California Grilled Veggie Sandwich

See how to make a 5-star sandwich with grilled vegetables on focaccia bread.

How to Make Veggie Shepherd’s Pie

Learn how to make a meat-free shepherd's pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States