Veggie Burgers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2009
This is the first time I've ever tried a veggie burger, and while it came out delicious, I can't say it came out tasting like hamburger, nor did mine brown the way I'm seeing in the picture. Is there a special way to cook this so it's more like hamburger? I'm also wondering if I had too much veggie and not enough oats as they are kinda floppy. Over all though, the taste of what I did make was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2009
Yummy! After looking at all the veggie burger recipes on this site I chose this one because of the ratings and all the veggies. I have to admit that they were hard to work with, but I sprinkled the flour on a cookie sheet pakced the mix in a 1/2 c. measure and plopped it on the sheet. I sprinkled that with flour and pressed it out with my hands. Worked fine. I did add some cilantro, my favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by grammylynn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Savage, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Prior Lake, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2009
These were really great. I like spicy so I used about 2 tsp. ground red pepper, 1 tsp. black pepper, 1 T. worcestershire sauce. I also froze the patties, separated by wax paper (I was unable to cook the day I prepared them). When I cooked them I did so in a skillet, if you do that do not dip in flour, the flour does not cook correctly. I did add 1/4 to 1/2 C flour to the recipe. Thanks for a great alternative recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yuma, Arizona, USA
Living In: Diamondhead, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2009
Not bad. I'm a vegan so I skipped the cheese and egg. They stayed together really well and smelled fabulous cooking. I found that the more I ate of my burger the flatter and flatter it got! It ended up creeping outside of my bun. My husband's a meat eater and said they were alright, but he wouldn't go out of his way for them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Brampton, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Newmarket, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2009
Since being diagnosed with chronic pancreatitis, I have been on a search for a good veggie burger recipe. This is absolutley the best I've found.I omit the Olive oil and use a non-stick fry pan to cook the vegetables. The burgers hold together niceley and work well on the grill. They have a pleasing color and a nice "crunch".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2009
Love the texture, but they definitely need some spice or some type of seasoning. I added some cajun spice to mine. Also, I mixed in 1 cup of flour and used bread crumbs to bread them after shaping them. Washing my hands after forming 2 helped keep them from being too sticky. The recipe made 8 good sized patties for me. They froze really well, so I will be making a batch for the freezer to use up some veggies from the garden. Much better than the frozen ones you buy at the store.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2009
We followed the recipe exactly. The burgers were cooked thoroughly but mushy in the middle and didn't have much flavor at all. Also they were quite a bit of work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Fishers, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2009
As-is these burgers are bland and difficult to work with. I don't know how they got 4+ stars from others. However, I added more oatmeal, wheat flour, garlic, and lots of spice (mesquite & caribbean jerk) and then they were quote good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2009
The recipe was excellent, and my daughter had to see the recipe because she loved them. than you Roberta
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2009
This is a really simple, good recipe for veggie burgers. I made only a couple small changes: I didn't have cheddar, so I subbed Monterrey jack and I used a rolled grain mix (oats, wheat, barley). Thanks for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sarasota, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 158) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Homemade Black Bean Veggie Burgers

These 5-star veggie burgers have it all over frozen burgers.

California Grilled Veggie Sandwich

See how to make a 5-star sandwich with grilled vegetables on focaccia bread.

How to Make Veggie Shepherd’s Pie

Learn how to make a meat-free shepherd's pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States