Veggie Burgers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2010
Taste good but crumble.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2009
Interesting! I never knew that you could make a meatless burger from oatmeal. This was good for me since the stores I shop at don't carry mock-meat products. Made up a "tester" version last week using what little ingredients we had in the house (just the carrots, onion, oats and soy), and it was surprisingly not bad! Although next time I'll have to add a little more seasoning and veggies to my burger since the tester came out a little bland. But I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carrie Cupcake

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fallston, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2009
Good burgers, though as the last reviewer suggested you will need to add your own sauce and spices for flavoring. These are a good starting point for your own creative ideas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chesaning, Michigan, USA
Living In: Greenville, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2009
Great flavor, though had problems peeling the veg-burger off the grill (no home-made veggie burger I've ever seen works on a grill, including this one. They stick & begin to break up, spray notwithstanding). Took them inside to my cast iron pan, film of oil and medium heat, 5 minutes on each side ... and they held together pretty well. Flavor hint: avoid the blandness of zucchini - don't be afraid to add some kosher salt to the mix, plus 1 Tbs good worcestershire sauce (though strict vegetarians will want to leave this out due to anchovies in this sauce). Lastly, I used smoked mozzarella and some pine nuts. Again, great flavor, fairly easy to do, and the oats-veggie combo worked well. I only wish you better luck if you use a BBQ or gas grill.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Farmingdale, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2009
Made these for dinner tonight and all four of my picky eaters ate them even my husband who hates veggie burgers. This is my first attempt at making veggie burgers and they were easy and had a wonderful flavor. I did add flour, only 1/2 cup, to the mix before refrigerating as one review suggested. They were a little mushy in the middle and a little sticky so next time I am going to try adding more oats. Healthy and delicious burgers, definately a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2009
I am a confirmed meat-eater, but my husband is vegetarian, and we BOTH love these! After a disastrous and inedible attempt at making black bean burgers once, I wasn't sure how this kind of veggie burger would turn out, but they taste GREAT. They fall apart more easily than a hamburger, sure, but that probably has a lot to do with how I always forget to squeeze the moisture out of the carrots and zucchini (important step!). I definitely recommend this recipe to anyone looking for a healthy, delicious meatless burger. Very tasty and satisfying.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TribePride

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2009
This is the first time I've ever tried a veggie burger, and while it came out delicious, I can't say it came out tasting like hamburger, nor did mine brown the way I'm seeing in the picture. Is there a special way to cook this so it's more like hamburger? I'm also wondering if I had too much veggie and not enough oats as they are kinda floppy. Over all though, the taste of what I did make was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2009
Yummy! After looking at all the veggie burger recipes on this site I chose this one because of the ratings and all the veggies. I have to admit that they were hard to work with, but I sprinkled the flour on a cookie sheet pakced the mix in a 1/2 c. measure and plopped it on the sheet. I sprinkled that with flour and pressed it out with my hands. Worked fine. I did add some cilantro, my favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by grammylynn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Savage, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Prior Lake, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2009
These were really great. I like spicy so I used about 2 tsp. ground red pepper, 1 tsp. black pepper, 1 T. worcestershire sauce. I also froze the patties, separated by wax paper (I was unable to cook the day I prepared them). When I cooked them I did so in a skillet, if you do that do not dip in flour, the flour does not cook correctly. I did add 1/4 to 1/2 C flour to the recipe. Thanks for a great alternative recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yuma, Arizona, USA
Living In: Diamondhead, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2009
Not bad. I'm a vegan so I skipped the cheese and egg. They stayed together really well and smelled fabulous cooking. I found that the more I ate of my burger the flatter and flatter it got! It ended up creeping outside of my bun. My husband's a meat eater and said they were alright, but he wouldn't go out of his way for them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Brampton, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Newmarket, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 154) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Homemade Black Bean Veggie Burgers

These 5-star veggie burgers have it all over frozen burgers.

California Grilled Veggie Sandwich

See how to make a 5-star sandwich with grilled vegetables on focaccia bread.

How to Make Veggie Shepherd’s Pie

Learn how to make a meat-free shepherd's pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States